Lion mouse pointer jumps

orionlogic

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Nov 4, 2007
15
0
Here fresh install of Lion, my mouse pointer jumps to the location when i move the mouse harshly. Like sudden move and stop it jumps to the direction.

Could not find this in system preferences any idea?
 

piddonkadonk

macrumors newbie
Jul 20, 2011
11
1
Boulder, CO
same thing

Having same issue. Using external Samsung monitor as my second screen w/ wireless Magic Mouse. My mouse pointer is jumping across to the opposite screen it seems.
 

TimmyDee

macrumors member
Feb 20, 2007
67
4
Same here. I thought it was my mouse pad, but I wasn't having problems before the upgrade. Hopefully this gets fixed soon.
 

Jawcl

macrumors newbie
Mar 22, 2011
9
0
Having same issue. Using external Samsung monitor as my second screen w/ wireless Magic Mouse. My mouse pointer is jumping across to the opposite screen it seems.
I'm glad to hear that others are having this issue and it wasn't just me. I'm using an Acer P216HV and am experiencing the exact same thing. I thought that there may be some interference so I turned off WiFi and did a bunch of other stuff to no avail.

Does anyone have a solution? Its getting rather annoying.
 
Last edited by a moderator:

Zeiss

macrumors member
Dec 18, 2006
75
2
Australia
yeah, did my head in at first, but i think it is a feature, not a bug.... On my 30" screen, if I am at the bottom right, and move the mouse like a 'gesture' it jumps to the top left... But I would turn it off if I knew how. Must really suck on duel screen setup.
 

chrono1081

macrumors 604
Jan 26, 2008
7,658
1,778
Isla Nublar
Oh geeze I used to have this in Snow Leopard when it first came out and it made selecting vertices in Maya a horrendous experience.

Make sure to go to http://www.apple.com/feedback and mention it. I mentioned it a bunch of time (and so must have others because it was fixed in Snow Leopard).

I haven't noticed it in Lion yet.
 

Kevenly

macrumors regular
Nov 22, 2008
141
66
The wrong planet.
I thought this was my mouse! Glad to hear it's in the system. My mouse pointer seems to randomly disappear and appear on the other side of the screen with no rhyme or reason or repeatability so far.

I also have the Targus Bluetooth Mouse for Mac which has sort of a small round touch pad in the middle, and it has always worked perfectly. Now with Lion on certain screens like Launchpad, it doesn't matter if I swipe left or right it always goes to the right. But in the regular finder it responds appropriately to the direction I swipe.
 

ycwee37

macrumors member
Oct 4, 2010
58
0
i have the same problem as well!!
and thencomp freezed for the first tim just now and i have to forcefully shut it down....
 

KyleGP

macrumors member
May 3, 2011
59
0
I'm not having problems with my cursor, but i am having problems with having to click things multiple times to get it to work.
Same. No cursor problems though.

I think the having to click things multiple times is because Lion is sluggish.
 

Bassdust

macrumors newbie
Mar 21, 2008
2
0
Me too!

Same issue, as above looks like it is jumping to my randomly second monitor plugged into my iMac.

I have noticed a couple of other "glitches" re second monitor.

Including but not limited to: one particular desktop background image went spaz, but only when in tile mode!
 

cocky jeremy

macrumors 601
Jul 12, 2008
4,350
1,927
Columbus, OH
Same. No cursor problems though.

I think the having to click things multiple times is because Lion is sluggish.
I don't think that's the issue. Not for me, at least. Lion seems to run much smoother than Leopard/Snow Leopard did for me. Uses a lot less RAM now too. Safari used to routinely hit 600 MB or more, now it rarely hits 200 MB on Lion.. and that's after longer usage than what got me to 600 MB on Snow Leopard.
 

apfhex

macrumors 68030
Aug 8, 2006
2,670
4
Northern California
Same here with Magic mouse and upgrade from Snow Leopard. Never anything like this before Lion. I thought it was BTT or a bluetooth issue but I guess it's really a bug. REALLY annoying if you like to use hotcorners, keep activating them accidentally. :(
 

CWallace

macrumors 604
Aug 17, 2007
7,150
3,078
Seattle, WA
Ditto with my Magic Mouse. It often flies off to my second monitor (which I normally leave off) so I have to make large sweeps to bring it back into view.
 

onthecouchagain

macrumors 604
Mar 29, 2011
7,382
1
Has anyone also experienced when waking up from sleep, the mouse doesn't adjust to the user's settings right away; meaning the track speed, scroll speed, etc.? It takes a good, I don't know, 20 seconds before the mouse finally adopts the preferred speed. It's a bit frustrating.

However, I am not experiencing the random mouse cursor jumping issue. Hm.
 

Spanky O'Toole

macrumors newbie
Jul 28, 2011
1
0
Update / Possible Work Around?

After getting frustrated this morning I tried a few things. For those of you who don't use Mission Control, I went in and turned off the three "check mark boxes" at the top. I haven't had the mouse jump since. I didn't try one choice at at time to try to narrow it down.

Hopefully this helps others or maybe points to a solution. It was driving me nuts in InDesign CS5.5 and Photoshop. My settings for MC are attached (I hope)...

I'll keep you posted if it starts getting eratic again.
 

Attachments

CWallace

macrumors 604
Aug 17, 2007
7,150
3,078
Seattle, WA
After getting frustrated this morning I tried a few things. For those of you who don't use Mission Control, I went in and turned off the three "check mark boxes" at the top. I haven't had the mouse jump since. I didn't try one choice at at time to try to narrow it down.
Unchecking all three boxes seems to have fixed it for me.

Thank you.
 

Ian James

macrumors newbie
Jan 15, 2012
5
4
Atlanta
Thank you

After getting frustrated this morning I tried a few things. For those of you who don't use Mission Control, I went in and turned off the three "check mark boxes" at the top. I haven't had the mouse jump since. I didn't try one choice at at time to try to narrow it down.

Hopefully this helps others or maybe points to a solution. It was driving me nuts in InDesign CS5.5 and Photoshop. My settings for MC are attached (I hope)...

I'll keep you posted if it starts getting eratic again.
That also did the trick for me, thank you so much, it was driving me bonkers !
 

flyxwire

macrumors newbie
Aug 3, 2008
6
0
Cursor jumps around Lion 10.7.2 - AppleCare Fix!

About a week ago my cursor started going nuts jumping around all over. Made no difference if I used magic mouse, external trackpad or laptop track pad.

Troubleshooting took some time but solution was fast.

The Tech Specialist had me create another user account. When I went to that account, everything worked normally.

ROOT CAUSE: Some program had altered a preference setting and culprit was somewhere in preferences list folder.

SOLUTION:

1) Open Finder
2) Make folder on Desktop called OLD PREFERENCES
3) On finder click GO
4) hold option key and LIBRARY will appear
5) Click LIBRARY then PREFERENCES
6) Click CMD-A and move all files to "Old Preferences" folder on desktop
7) Reboot and Clear PRAM -
How to do that: Turn on your Mac and hold down the Command, Option,
P, and R keys all at the same time (all four keys). Keep holding down all
four keys until you hear the startup sound for a second time.
8) Start normally - Log in
9) Problem should be gone.

You will need to set your preferences all over again for each program OR if you understand what you are doing, you can take the preferences for whatever program from OLD Preference folder on desktop and place them back in preferences folder in Library.

Be forewarned, doing that may bring problem back if that set of preferences was the cause of problem in first place.

It worked for me and machine is running much faster and flawlessly.

Re-installing LION was not recommended as it "lays" a new copy of Lion over old one. A re-install does not touch your preferences, so the problem will still exist unless you wiped your drive clean.

Hope this helps those that were as frustrated as I was.

:)
 

theanimaster

macrumors 6502
Oct 7, 2005
315
12
Automatic Graphic Switching

I was getting the same thing... but only for a short time, then it sorted itself out. Could this be related to automatic graphic switching (from the intel graphics to the dedicated graphics) I wonder?
 
Register on MacRumors! This sidebar will go away, and you'll see fewer ads.