Lion on a 2010 MBA 13

Discussion in 'MacBook Air' started by Geebz, Sep 8, 2011.

  1. Geebz macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2010
    #1
    How well will a 2010 13 inch MBA run Lion? This model comes with the standard 2 gigs of ram. Is the hardware capable of handling Lion without any hassles? Anyone have any experience running Lion on such a machine? Thanks.
     
  2. IJBrekke macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2009
    Location:
    Long Beach, CA
    #2
    From what I've read, it's slightly more memory-intensive, but it seems to run alright. Lion is still getting the kinks worked out of it, so it's a very case-by-case basis right now. If I were you, I'd wait a little while longer until it runs more smoothly.
     
  3. Geebz thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2010
  4. calvol macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2011
    #4
    You might check the Lion forum to see what the latest issues are with Lion (not specific to the 2010 model), and decide if you really want to run Lion right now. There were a lot of comments about lower battery life initially.
     
  5. AdrianK macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2011
    #5
    I wouldn't run Lion on a machine with 2GB of RAM. IMO not getting an Air w/ 4GB is a real deal-breaker.
     
  6. macbookpro45 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2010
    #6
    I've been trying to get feedback on this for weeks! Someone needs to post legitimate data ;p
     
  7. s1lv3r macrumors member

    s1lv3r

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2010
    Location:
    Germany
    #7
    i have a 2010 13" Ultimate Air and it runs Lion nice. The same way it did with Snow Leopard.
     
  8. MickeyVee macrumors member

    MickeyVee

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2009
    Location:
    Canada
    #8
    For all you nay sayers.. I'm running Lion on the original MBA Rev A. (upgraded the drive to a 128GB SSD) Light duty work, browsing, office, media comsumption, plus Lightroom 3, Photoshop Elements and some HDR software.
    It runs quite well.. quicker than SL.. and as fast as I need it to.
    I've been itching to get a new 2011 MBA but for now, I really can't see any benefit in upgrading other than if I want to run a virtual Windows machine well. I have a MacMini for that.
     
  9. BENJMNS macrumors 6502

    BENJMNS

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2005
    #9
    yup ez does it
     
  10. racheldeet macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2010
    #10
    I'm running Lion on my base model 13" 2010 MBA and haven't run into any kinks yet.

    YMMV.
     
  11. nylon macrumors 6502a

    nylon

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2004
    #11
    Yup, I was thinking about upgrading to the Core i5 but my 2010 Ultimate MBA 13 runs Lion very well. I had also purchased Apple Care and upgrading would have hit me more then I would have liked. Taking the 4GB RAM upgrade option last year was essential to maintining this machines longevity.

    Additionally, after reading the Anandtech review it is clear that the LCD panel on 2010 machine is superior to this years (13").
     

Share This Page