Lion on my 2011 quad core

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by lavrishevo, Jul 19, 2011.

  1. lavrishevo macrumors 68000

    lavrishevo

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2007
    Location:
    NJ
    #1
    So, this post will not be particularly edifying but I just wanted to report that Lion is running very well on my quad-core. Boot times are a bit slower then Snow Leopard the overall performance seems to be the same as Snow leopard.

    The UI changes are nice and overall and I do like the upgrade. It is not drastically different then Snow Leopard but the additional features are useful and refined. I really like the new mail. Launchpad is convenient as well. So far, all of my software is working as it should.

    The major ones includes:
    FCP 7
    Office 2011
    iLife & iWork
    CS5 Master Collection
    Cyberduck
    Vmware Fusion

    The upgrade was easy and painless. On my Macbook Pro it took about 35 min to install. Anyway, if you have any questions I am glad to answer to my abilities.
     
  2. head honcho 123 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2008
    Location:
    New York
    #2
    cool screen shots please :)
     
  3. mark28 macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010
    #3
    Does Lion bring updated drivers ( better performance and / or bug fixes )?

    Or is it just a feature upgrade and nothing more?

    Has Lion improved battery life and system responsiveness?
     
  4. lavrishevo thread starter macrumors 68000

    lavrishevo

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2007
    Location:
    NJ
  5. lavrishevo thread starter macrumors 68000

    lavrishevo

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2007
    Location:
    NJ
    #5
    No driver updates that I have seen.

    Battery life seems to be on par with Snow Leopard but I have not done any specific test.

    Performance, again, seems to be on par with Snow Leopard. If it is faster it is only slightly. I have not noticed any drastic improvement really anywhere. This does not make it any less of a worthwhile upgrade.

    As of now, no crashes or bugs. Seems very stable.
     
  6. lavrishevo, Jul 19, 2011
    Last edited: Jul 19, 2011

    lavrishevo thread starter macrumors 68000

    lavrishevo

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2007
    Location:
    NJ
  7. mark28 macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010
    #7
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPod; U; CPU iPhone OS 4_3_4 like Mac OS X; nl-nl) AppleWebKit/533.17.9 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.0.2 Mobile/8K2 Safari/6533.18.5)

    If you have a 3rd party SSD installed, does trim work?
     
  8. lavrishevo thread starter macrumors 68000

    lavrishevo

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2007
    Location:
    NJ
  9. lavrishevo thread starter macrumors 68000

    lavrishevo

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2007
    Location:
    NJ
    #9
    Sorry, I'm running the Momentus XT hybrid so I can't answer that one.
     
  10. getz76 macrumors 6502a

    getz76

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2009
    Location:
    Hell, AL
    #10
    I might clone my drive and test it out. Glad to hear CS 5 is working. I do need Pro Tools 9 to work, though...
     
  11. head honcho 123 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2008
    Location:
    New York
  12. AFPoster macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2008
    Location:
    Charlotte, NC
    #12
    Can't wait for tomorrow when it launches (hopefully) to get it!
     
  13. schizbomb macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 14, 2011
    Location:
    Texas
    #13
    It wasn't for me when I had a Crucial C300 in a 2008 MacBook.

    I had a ridiculous amount of beach balls with my Lion, but I did a clean install and that all went away. I love it overall, I just miss my 4 finger swipe to show desktop.
     
  14. bozz2006 macrumors 68030

    bozz2006

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2007
    Location:
    Minnesota
    #14
    I believe an easy workaround for this will be to set up an empty space, with nothing in it. Then you would just have to four-finger swipe right or left to the next empty space to show a clean desktop.
     
  15. kappaknight macrumors 68000

    kappaknight

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2009
    #15
    How do you clean install Lion? With a clean Snow Leopard?

    The 4 finger swipe is replaced by four fingers plus the thumb fanning out. (Opposite of LaunchPad) It takes some getting used to but the feature is still there.

    Don't upgrade to Lion if you use Vuze. The OS seems to be lacking good Java support so it messes up downloads.

    I've also found Finder and some other windows to randomly not pull up when requested. Had to relaunch Finder to get it working again. Also, when opening new programs like 1Password, it pops up in the background instead of on top. Weird stuff. Hope 10.7.1 comes out within a couple of weeks.
     
  16. schizbomb macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 14, 2011
    Location:
    Texas
    #16
    I just followed a guide to make a bootable partition on a hard drive to clean install Lion.
     
  17. daneoni macrumors G4

    daneoni

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2006
    #17
    It doesn't
     
  18. AFPoster macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2008
    Location:
    Charlotte, NC
    #18

Share This Page