Lion on PC

Discussion in 'Mac OS X Lion (10.7)' started by vix2000, Jul 11, 2011.

  1. vix2000, Jul 11, 2011
    Last edited: Jul 11, 2011

    vix2000 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2010
    #1
    Being a new mac convert since getting my mba last November I will obviously be buying Lion when it comes out. I am thinking of also putting Lion on a pc running windows 7 at the moment. Being a novice I wondered if someone would tell me if this a good idea, and also the best and most efficient way to do this. I have windows 7 on virtual box on my mba but rarely use it. Is it the same running virtual box on a pc. Thanks.
     
  2. Steve's Barber macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2011
    #2
    I don't know what you're asking. A "Hackintosh"? (Putting Lion on a PC) or using the bootcamp option in OSX to run Windows 7 on your mac?
     
  3. vix2000 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2010
    #3
    I don't know what hackintosh means and as I said I am running win 7 through virtual box on my mac.

    I am asking if it is possible to use Lion as an operating system on a pc, and if so the best way to do it.

    Sorry if my original post was unclear. Thanks.
     
  4. Cougarcat macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2003
    #4
    What are your system specs? It's only possible if you use Mac-compatible parts. You must have an intel CPU, for example. You also have to use a bootloader and (ideally) a separate blank drive to install it on. You can check http://www.osx86.com for parts compatibility, and http://tonymacx86.com/ will have a guide for installing Lion on day one.

    There is no way to run OS X in a virtual machine within Windows.
     
  5. vix2000 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2010
    #5
    Thank you for that information. I will check all the above.
     
  6. soup4you2 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2007
    #6
    Oh?? I have 10.6 running on VMWare workstation on my windows box. works pretty good also..
     
  7. Cougarcat macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2003
    #7
  8. Madd the Sane macrumors 6502a

    Madd the Sane

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2010
    Location:
    Utah
    #8
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPod; U; CPU iPhone OS 4_2_1 like Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/533.17.9 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.0.2 Mobile/8C148 Safari/6533.18.5)

    Legally, you can only install Mac OS X on Macintosh computers; it's in their EULA.
     
  9. techfreak85, Jul 11, 2011
    Last edited: Jul 11, 2011

    techfreak85 macrumors 68040

    techfreak85

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2008
    Location:
    Places
    #9
    The wording is actually "Apple-branded systems". My Hackintosh has an Apple logo on it.;)

    Tonymacx86 will be coming out with a guide on how to install Lion on a PC on launch day. Hopefully it will be as easy as he has made it for Snow Leopard.
     
  10. MisterMe macrumors G4

    MisterMe

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2002
    Location:
    USA
    #10
    Too cute by half. Only Apple has the legal authority to brand a computer as an Apple-branded computer.
     
  11. techfreak85 macrumors 68040

    techfreak85

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2008
    Location:
    Places
    #11
    Sorry, maybe my winking face didn't imply very clearly that I was only half serious.:rolleyes:
     

Share This Page