Lion Server Error - What does this mean? (pic)

Discussion in 'Mac OS X Lion (10.7)' started by Prof., Jul 21, 2011.

  1. Prof. macrumors 601

    Prof.

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2007
    Location:
    Chicago
    #1
    Anyone else getting this? I have no idea how to fix it. I get it every time I open my Mac from sleep/turn it on.
     

    Attached Files:

  2. mrapplegate macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2011
    Location:
    Cincinnati, OH
    #3
    Each of these Apple discussions is a couple of pages long, but have you tried these:


    A possible solution in one was, “I just managed to fix the problem! I went into the Preferences (hold down Apple icon top left of screen and select "System Preferences"), clicked on the "Time Machine" icon (next to last row towards the right), and slid the ON/OFF switch to the OFF position. Like magic...no annoying error message! All I have to do now is remember to turn it back on now and then to back up my laptop.”

    https://discussions.apple.com/thread/3204360?start=0&tstart=0

    https://discussions.apple.com/thread/3191972?start=0&tstart=0

    https://discussions.apple.com/thread/3194520?start=0&tstart=0
     
  3. Prof. thread starter macrumors 601

    Prof.

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2007
    Location:
    Chicago
  4. mrapplegate macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2011
    Location:
    Cincinnati, OH
    #5
    It looks like it, but I did not read each thread, I was just pointing you in the right direction. It looks like many are having the same problem.
     
  5. tstirling22 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2009
    #6
    From the second link you posted: "I had the same problem. We definitely traced it to Time Machine. The "Fix" was this: plugged in and designated different external HD as Backup volume. Then plugged in the original disc (after testing in in a different machine) and now the computer recognized it and error message stopped popping up. The Apple tech was as puzzled as I as to why this worked, but perhaps, forcing the machine to re-recognize it (or maybe even, gettting it recognized by a different machine first) somehow worked some magic. (Since posting this in another chat, several people have been successful. Good Luck!)"

    This is the only permanent fix at the time that i have found.
     
  6. Prof. thread starter macrumors 601

    Prof.

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2007
    Location:
    Chicago
    #7
    I turned off time machine, it fixed the problem entirely. The only time I turn TM on is when I do my weekly backup. :)
     

Share This Page