Lion space usage question

Discussion in 'Mac OS X Lion (10.7)' started by vtboyarc, Jun 18, 2011.

  1. vtboyarc macrumors 6502

    vtboyarc

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2011
    #1
    Hi all,
    I only have 5.8gb left on my HDD, I was wondering if anyone knows if the amount of space Lion is will replace the older OS, so I really won't be using up any space, or will I actually need a lot of free space for Lion? If this makes any sense...thanks!
     
  2. Cougarcat macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2003
    #2
    Lion's about a gig bigger than SL so you should be OK. You should consider getting an external, though--they're dirt cheap and it's a good idea to have 10% of your disk free.
     
  3. simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #3
    The DP4 of Lion takes around 5.28GB, but with such a low HDD capacity, you should think about getting a cheap external HDD to offload some data, as having less than 10% of the HDD's capacity free is NOT recommended, as it can lead to HDD failure more quickly.
     
  4. vtboyarc thread starter macrumors 6502

    vtboyarc

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2011
    #4
    ooh ok! I actually have a 500gb I use for the backups, but I guess I can just actually move stuff of my Macbook onto that?
     
  5. simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #5
    Yes, you can do that.
     
  6. Cougarcat macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2003
    #6
    sure.
     
  7. vtboyarc thread starter macrumors 6502

    vtboyarc

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2011
    #7
    One thing I'm a little nervous about with that, is if the external fails, then I've lost it for good
     
  8. simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #8
    Yep. That's why you should have two or more backups of your important data.
    I have two backups of my important data, meaning I have three exact copies of it.
    TBs are cheap nowadays, thus you could get two 1TB USB 2.0 HDDs for 100€.
     
  9. Cougarcat macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2003
    #9
    This is true. I was worrying about this myself (Only had a TM backup), then I got a 2 TB hard drive dirt cheap from newegg. Had enough space to clone my desktop mac, MacBook Pro, external media HD, and PC. Storing it offsite, that way if my apt burns to the ground or gets broken in, I'll be OK.
     
  10. vtboyarc thread starter macrumors 6502

    vtboyarc

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2011
    #10
    sounds smart I think I'll have to get another one!
     

Share This Page