Lion startup/Boot time

Discussion in 'Mac OS X Lion (10.7)' started by i-aamir, Jul 21, 2011.

  1. i-aamir macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2010
    Location:
    UK - London
    #1
    Dear all,

    My Lion startup / boot time has increased by 10 seconds despite all apps being closed before shutting down!

    In SL it was around 26 seconds and in Lion it's around 36-37 seconds.

    I'm running it on a 2.7ghz quad core iMac 27".

    Can anybody help and advise on what tweaks it may require to speed up again?

    Many thanks
     
  2. DustinT macrumors 68000

    DustinT

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2011
  3. i-aamir thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2010
    Location:
    UK - London
    #3
    I've got a standard 1TB 7200rpm HDD
     
  4. windowstomac macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2011
    #4
    My boot time has slowed considerably as well :-(
     
  5. seong macrumors 65816

    seong

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2010
    #5
    As I said on my thread, I was thinking that the 'Resume' feature of Lion made it a little bit slower. It loads instantly. That's a nice feature to have. Plus, extra 10 seconds will not waste your time that much.
     
  6. taylor200588 macrumors regular

    taylor200588

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2007
    Location:
    Arbroath, Scotland
    #6
    Same! on my mid 2010 Macbook Pro 2.4ghz 250gb 5400rpm HD
     
  7. NWI73 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2010
    #7
    My startup time is horrendous as well. And my entire mcb runs like a turd now :( Not too happy with lion so far.
     
  8. ^squirrel^ macrumors 6502a

    ^squirrel^

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2006
    Location:
    England
    #8
    This doesn't sound good. It's like when we moved from Tiger to Leopard!!!
     
  9. Craiger macrumors 6502a

    Craiger

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2007
    #9
    wow... My start time decreased just a little bit on my intel ssd.


    Edit to say that I did a FRESH install of Lion. Did you guys do fresh install or update?
     
  10. Catastrophe. macrumors member

    Catastrophe.

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2010
    Location:
    Wales
    #10
    It's happening to me too :/ I have no idea why.
     
  11. definitive macrumors 68000

    definitive

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2008
    #11
    my boot time is the same as snow leopard. i did a clean install of lion.
     
  12. Zebson macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2011
  13. Charlie03 macrumors newbie

    Charlie03

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2010
    Location:
    Dallas, TX
    #13
    My boot time on my iMac 27" standard 1TB HD is actually faster, and shut down as well.
     

Share This Page