Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

fartheststar

macrumors 6502a
Original poster
Dec 29, 2003
Toronto
Hello,

I run Lion on a Mac Pro 3,1 and a Macbook Pro 5,1. The Mac Pro is a business machine, I depend on it for a living. Laptop is less important, it's portable, but everything on it is on the Mac Pro and backed up at least once if not twice.

I'm on Lion because I upgraded the Mac Pro to run Avid Media Composer 6. Now that I'm on MC7, it's supported on Lion, Mountain Lion and Mavericks. Other important applications I use include the Adobe Creative Suite 5 (CS5), and it seems that to play it safe, CS5 should be used on Lion or Mountain Lion.... I read 'iffy' things about Mavericks and CS5 and am not ready to begin renting their new software suite.

I am wondering if it's worthwhile to upgrade to Mountain Lion. The thought came about when the App store yelled at me that I couldn't install some software I purchased, because they updated the app recently so that it can't work on Lion any more (but Mountain Lion will offer you last compatible version). Also, a friend recently had to upgrade to ML from Snow Leopard when he updated his Protools rig.

Can you please give me reasons as to why I'd want to, and why I wouldn't?

-Is it snappier? (little lol)

-I guess it's more likely to be supported then Lion for security updates?

Anything else functionality wise I'd enjoy?

Trying to get some perspective as to why I would upgrade the OS or just leave well enough alone. It might be good to point out that I don't use Launchpad, or Mission Control, just the dock, quicksilver, keyboard, and a mouse.

Thanks. Not interested in upgrading to Mavericks.

Bear

macrumors G3
Jul 23, 2002
Sol III - Terra