Lion wont auto arrange folder and files.

Discussion in 'macOS' started by Xavio, Oct 10, 2011.

  1. Xavio macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2009
    #1
    I've got a bunch of different files and folders in my Downloaded Files folder. As I assume there should be a way to make Finder auto-arrange the files and keep it ordered, Finder seems to mess it up all the time.

    After I extract, lets say, a zip-file, the newly created folder ends up last in the creation-sorted view. Recently created folders resides on the top. And after the zip-file extracts and removes itself, it leaves a hole after it. No auto-arranging.

    Then I choose to sort the view after creation date again. The files sort up correctly, but just for the time being, until I change something again.


    Is this really normal behaviour? Or is it something I'm doing wrong here? Can't remember having this much trouble with Finder before. :confused:
     
  2. Gregg2 macrumors 603

    Joined:
    May 22, 2008
    Location:
    Milwaukee, WI
    #2
    You don't say which View you've set your windows to. Icon, List...
     
  3. Xavio thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2009
    #3
    That would be Icons.
     
  4. wrldwzrd89 macrumors G5

    wrldwzrd89

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2003
    Location:
    Solon, OH
    #4
    I have this same problem. Newly created files don't arrange themselves into place until you refresh... oddly enough, Windows XP does this too.
     
  5. ScoobyMcDoo macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2007
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    #5
    That behavior always made sense to me. If you had some background process constantly adding files to a folder and those new files kept getting inserted at their appropriate sorted places, the display would constantly be jumping around. This would make is a real pain to be selecting files for some other operation you were trying to do.
     
  6. Gregg2 macrumors 603

    Joined:
    May 22, 2008
    Location:
    Milwaukee, WI
    #6
    Yes. Not only is it normal, it's quite logical. At least they give you a refresh option.
     

Share This Page