Lion + Xcode 4 on Air?

Discussion in 'MacBook Air' started by warfed, Apr 16, 2011.

  1. warfed, Apr 16, 2011
    Last edited: Apr 16, 2011

    warfed macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2011
    #1
    I am thinking of buying a 13" air (1.86GHz, 4GB, 128GB) but I want to be sure I will be able to run Xcode 4 without any problems. Any developers here running Xcode 4 in lion? I searched and I know the current Xcode runs fine, but 4 is a bit more resource intensive. The laptop will be used for general stuff like web, email, word, excel and iOS development. I am trying to decide between an air and a Vaio Z as those are the only ultra portable laptops I found that have a higher screen resolution. Vaio Z is more powerful but also hotter and louder... so I think I lean towards the Air, but I want to make sure it handle iOS development.
     
  2. SR71 macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2011
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    #2
    The MBA will be perfect for your needs. I went to the Apple store and tried this and it worked perfect, no lag what-so-ever! And that was on the 13.3" 2GB RAM model.
     
  3. Kenndac macrumors 6502

    Kenndac

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2003
    #3
    Well, the MacBook Air will certainly run Xcode 4 better than any Windows PC!

    I'm running Xcode 4 on my MacBook Air with identical specs to the one you described and it runs just fine.
     
  4. SnowLeopard2008 macrumors 604

    SnowLeopard2008

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2008
    Location:
    Silicon Valley
    #4
    Well that's because Xcode CAN'T run on ANY Windows PC period. Gotta have a Mac! :)
     
  5. Kenndac macrumors 6502

    Kenndac

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2003
    #5
    Well, yes... that's what I meant.
     
  6. warfed thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2011
    #6
    Great thanks! Are you running Snow Leopard or Lion?

    Yes Mac is certainly better for Xcode :D But if it the Air wouldn't run it very well I could just use Snow Leopard in vmware. It's not very convenient, especially since there is no accelerated graphics. But it works.
     
  7. dudeofswim macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2008
    #7
    I'm using Snow Leopard and xcode 4 on the same specs that you are thinking of. Runs just fine :)
     
  8. MuDPHuDStudent macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2009
    Location:
    Hanover, NH
    #8
    Sure, you can run Xcode 4 on the Air. The problem is that Xcode 4 is terrible, so you might not want to.
     
  9. rmbrown09 macrumors 6502a

    rmbrown09

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2010
    #9
    Explain yourself heathen
     
  10. MuDPHuDStudent macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2009
    Location:
    Hanover, NH
    #10
    Xcode 3.2.6 is great. In Xcode 4 I can't even compile and run some simple C code. See this.
     
  11. chrono1081 macrumors 604

    chrono1081

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2008
    Location:
    Isla Nublar
    #11
    Macbook airs are very powerful. If anyone tells you otherwise they are wrong. I run XCode just fine on mine. I also run Maya, ZBrush, Unity 3D, Houdini, Photoshop and Corona SDK on mine regularly with no problems.
     
  12. Marconelly macrumors 6502

    Marconelly

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2008
    #12
    Xcode 4 runs just fine here on 1.86 13". I didn't really even notice any performance degradation compared to Xc3. It does take some getting used to though - nothing seems to be where it was before.
     
  13. DarwinOSX macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2009
    #13
    Then you haven't tried. Not to mention you are going to quote some PC World nonsense article as backup for your statement?

    XCode 4 is fine and plenty of people use it on a MBA 13 and even 11". Yes its different from 3. Shocking isn't it?


     
  14. warfed thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2011
    #14
    Thanks for all the feedback guys.

    I personally prefer Xcode 4 over 3 because everything is in one window. I hate using interface builder in 3 especially if you have more than one screen open.
     

Share This Page