Listing numbers as "iPhone"?

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by kevintech, Feb 17, 2011.

  1. kevintech macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2010
    #1
    Is there any real benefit to listing a number under the iPhone field for a contact?If you don't know what I'm talking about, I'm talking about instead of listing it as home, mobile or fax, there's a field for iPhone.

    All I've discovered is that it lists it as iPhone when receiving calls, voicemails and that's it.

    Is there more of a function than just a label? I've searched and found nothing, please direct me to the right thread if there is one.
     
  2. huskerchad macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2002
    #2
    I don't know of one. Maybe facetime defaults to that number if it finds one?
     
  3. Saberon macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2008
  4. milani macrumors 68000

    milani

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2008
    #4
    Yes, because if you use voice dialing you will have to specify either "mobile" or "iPhone" depending on how you've listed the number.
     
  5. ulbador macrumors 68000

    ulbador

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2010
    #5
    I think it does cause problems if you sync with Google. I believe your contacts will end up on Google without phone numbers on them.
     
  6. ucfgrad93 macrumors P6

    ucfgrad93

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2007
    Location:
    Colorado
    #6
    I guess it helps you remember who has an iPhone so you can use FaceTime.
     
  7. himesh macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2010
    Location:
    Birmingham, England
    #7
    Its for if you have more than one contact for voice dialling. It will prompt you which number you want to dial.
     
  8. centavar macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2011
    #8
    Not true,it syncs as it should.
     
  9. aldo82 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2011
    #9
    Google doesn't have an 'iphone' contact type so when you set google up using exchange you no longer get this choice. I had lots of problems exporting my Address Book contacts (from the mac) to google so I could start using Exchange. Lots of contacts numbers were dropped, not sure if these were the 'iphone' ones though
     

Share This Page