Little poll about Storage in this days

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by umbilical, Nov 30, 2009.

  1. umbilical macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 3, 2008
    Location:
    FL, USA
    #1
    hi, I have a lot!!!!! DVDRs with info (some movies etc...) I start see that is better have all on HDs... and dont burn anything on CDs...

    good things: everyday the storage are more cheap

    bad things: if the hds destroy, all the data are destroit... (well a good solution is mozy.com)

    some good options is like http://www.drobo.com

    any other solutions???

    I have a macpro '08 with 500gb default and 1tb extra, I soon go for more, I think that I can put 4 x 2tb right???

    and well the poll? you still burn DVDs ??? or go to full HD storage?? how?
     
  2. Mackilroy macrumors 68040

    Mackilroy

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2006
    #2
    You can easily have at least 6x2 TB, if you don't mind having no optical drives, and I believe Tesselator has eight drives in his Mac Pro. I have two 750 GB drives and one 500 GB in my machine.
     
  3. pastrychef macrumors 601

    pastrychef

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2006
    Location:
    New York City, NY
    #3
    I have largely gone to storing things on hard drives.

    I use two Drobos. One loaded up with four 2TB drives and the other loaded up with 1.5TB drives. I also have four drive RAID 5 NAS with four 1TB drives. I like the Drobos much more.
     
  4. umbilical thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 3, 2008
    Location:
    FL, USA
    #4
    drobo vs lacie? or what other is better than all ???? http://www.lacie.com/us/products/product.htm?pid=11264
     
  5. pastrychef macrumors 601

    pastrychef

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2006
    Location:
    New York City, NY
    #5
    Personally, I like the Drobos much more. The ease of upgradability is the major selling point for me. For example, if I went with the LaCie, there's no easy way to expand on the capacity. On the Drobos, I can just swap out a smaller drive for a larger one.
     
  6. cmaier macrumors G3

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2007
    Location:
    California
  7. supercooled macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2007
    #7
    I use to have 4TB in my system but then went and bought an Acer Easystore H340. It's able to share a lot easier and I don't have to keep the beast powered on serving files. I just have 3.2TB now running 640GB WD drives striped.

    If I see another sale for a Windows Home Server NAS again, preferably an HP one, I'll pick it up for future consideration.
     
  8. VirtualRain macrumors 603

    VirtualRain

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2008
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC
    #8
    I have a Mac Mini based NAS (doubling as HTPC) with dual-drive FW800 enclosure.

    Sans Digital has some nice external enclosures and NAS products that are consistent with the quality and look of the Mac Pro.
     
  9. fluffyx macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2007
    #9
    backblaze.com is an awesome online backup service. I have 5 hard drives plugged in to one computer for a total capacity of 3.5TB, and Backblaze backs it all up for $5/mo.

    It's still nice to have on-site backups because they're a lot faster to restore from, but Backblaze is affordable protection against natural disasters (e.g., fire).
     
  10. Go Go macrumors newbie

    Go Go

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2009
    Location:
    NY NY
    #10
    storage

    you might want to look at an external running raid level 5

    maybe something from Buffallo?
     
  11. cmaier macrumors G3

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2007
    Location:
    California
    #11
    Uh oh. This is the point where the anti-Raid 5 bunch chimes in. (To be honest, though, Raid 5 can be risky).
     
  12. chiefroastbeef macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 26, 2008
    Location:
    Dallas, Texas/ Hong Kong
    #12
    In your situation, definitely stick with a drobo, it is super easy to use, expandable, and your storage is safe forever (as long as you replace failing hdds). I have one and it gives me a peace of mind.
     
  13. MrBrekke macrumors 6502

    MrBrekke

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2009
    Location:
    Norway
    #13
    i use only HDD storage. 2x 4 bay NAS RAID 1+0 for backup and speed :)

    and of course i have my 16GB usb stick and a 250GB WD passport
     
  14. pastrychef macrumors 601

    pastrychef

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2006
    Location:
    New York City, NY
    #14
    That looked really great until I read about the 4GB file size limit... Bummer...
     
  15. umbilical thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 3, 2008
    Location:
    FL, USA
    #15
    backblaze vs mozy ????????????

    I hate mozy beacuse I backup a file... and later I delete from my computer... sooooooo the file are deleted from mozy 1 week later...
     

Share This Page