Live Demo Units in store - Maps app

Discussion in 'Apple Watch' started by bizzy045, Apr 14, 2015.

  1. bizzy045 macrumors 6502

    bizzy045

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2011
    #1
    Anyone try using it. You use force touch to bring up search. When I clicked on search, it just took me to a blank screen. Does it need to be paired with a phone to work? The employees had no idea. Just kept telling me to use siri to get a location in maps. I kept saying then what is the point of the search button when I use force touch? Anyone know what or how the search works, and why on the demo unit the screen was just black?
     
  2. Patriot24 macrumors 68030

    Patriot24

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2010
    Location:
    California
    #2
    Looks like you found a hole in the software. I'm sure that will be resolved by next week.

    I'm not sure what kind of utility the watch will have for maps. The screen isn't all that conducive for navigation or other tasks.
     
  3. bizzy045 thread starter macrumors 6502

    bizzy045

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2011
    #3
    Maps on the watch is actually really useful, and easy to use. Especially if walking somewhere. I'm not sure it's a hole, as it worked during the keynote I believe. It might just be something with the demo units. Search in maps is a very basic function that they wouldn't have overlooked. What else is the app for.
     
  4. Arran macrumors 68040

    Arran

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2008
    Location:
    Atlanta, USA
    #4
    I experienced the same issue. Saw a blank grid when I zoomed out and then got some sort of error message about pairing with a phone.

    Poor showing. Very poor.

    ----------

    It should've been resolved last week.
     
  5. nfl46 macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2008
    #5

    Why last week? It's not officially out yet, even the people who reviewed the watches didn't have the final release software on their watch. As usual, expect an update a couple weeks after the 24th.
     
  6. KauaiBruce macrumors 6502a

    KauaiBruce

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2007
    Location:
    Kauai, HI
    #6
    Are the demo units connected to the internet? That would be required for maps to work.
     
  7. Arran macrumors 68040

    Arran

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2008
    Location:
    Atlanta, USA
    #7
    Because prospective customers are in the stores playing with it this week.

    First impressions count.
     
  8. bizzy045 thread starter macrumors 6502

    bizzy045

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2011
    #8
    Siri works on demo units. Also was able to find my current location. So yes they are connected to the Internet.
     
  9. Angelgrant macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2015
    Location:
    Arizona
    #9
    At the demo station, the :apple:watch I played with had an email I checked that had a hyperlinked address in California. I clicked it and maps opened and told me it would take 11+ hours to drive there. As I am in AZ and the address was near central CA, that's about right.
     
  10. matty.p macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2010
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #10
    In one of the video reviews. It may have been WSJ you can see him clicking search a few times in maps and it never working while he narrates about something else. I assume it's a hole in the software. I assume the review units are a month or so old build.
     
  11. jk4lebron23 macrumors 65816

    jk4lebron23

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2010
    Location:
    Nashville,TN
    #11
    Maps loaded and worked fine on the one i tried.

    Very cool feature!
     
  12. GReeeeN macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2015
    #12
    I just walked out of the apple store and also found this. On the iPad screen it did say "search for locations using search" but it was just a black screen

    I'm pretty sure the maps app is just gonna be a 2nd screen for the iPhone. The search function on the watch will probably only bring up recent searches from the phone.
     
  13. DavidWildJnr macrumors regular

    DavidWildJnr

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2011
    Location:
    Manchester UK
    #13
    Blank screen for the maps search function on the 19th for me too.
     
  14. Jamesk811 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2015
    #14
    I was told it must be paired to a phone for the search function to work
     

Share This Page