Loading changes in cydia taking forever.. anyone else with this problem

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by Shorts., Aug 10, 2010.

  1. Shorts. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2010
    #1
    its starting to suck so bad.. anytime i get onto cydia and it loads changes it take LITERALLY about 1 minute and 45 seconds each time.. so when i download something it takes that long.. when i uninstall something it takes that long.when i add a source it takes that long. anyone else having this problem
     
  2. nednarm macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2010
    Location:
    U.K
    #2
    Mine did this as well. The only way I got to fix it was to restore to stock and reJB, I'm not sure why it happens really, it should only take a few seconds.
     
  3. Shorts. thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2010
    #3
    eh i dont feel like restoring and re JB and put all my music tvshows and apps not to mention all the stuff i downloaded from cydia.. so i guess i will just deal with it.. it started last night
     
  4. jthomp macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2008
    Location:
    the 717
    #4
    Mine was taking forever and it was a result to an issue with a manually entered repo. Not sure if this is the case. I had to SSH into my phone and manually edit out a few repo's that were hanging during the refresh. Not sure if you tried this, but maybe it's something to try. As soon as I did mine and saved it, next time i opened cydia it refreshed in under 10 seconds...
     
  5. BobboZR2 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2008
    #5
    It's coming from all the repos you most likely added. Each repo loads their packages each time and the ones that error out also take time to load. Your best bet is to remove them from within Cydia (Manage>Sources>Edit) and/or remove them via SSH (http://modmyi.com/forums/file-mods/493631-remove-cydia-sources-through-ssh.html). That should fix your loading problem.

    A word of advice: Try not to enter every repo you hear about/come across. Only add ones you know you need. A lot of repos are redundant as well so the same app is available on multiple repos.
     
  6. Shorts. thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2010
    #6
    I only added like 3 repos manually.. I dont enter every repo i hear about. I know all about jailbreaking and SSH i have been doing it since 1x firmware days.. what i am saying is out of nowhere it started doing it last night ..i havent entered any repos in since the day of jailbreakme.com
     
  7. BobboZR2 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2008
    #7
    How the hell am I to know you've got all this "experience" jailbreaking? You never stated that in your post. I was offering assitance. With your vast knowledge of jailbreaking why didn't you already come up with the solution to your problem; to restore and re-jailbreak your phone?
     
  8. wrkactjob macrumors 65816

    wrkactjob

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2008
    Location:
    London
    #8
    Yeah had this with Cydia on the 3G and there was always loads of error messages as to why the updates failed, it was a pain I couldn't be bothered to learn to understand. I only JB to change the text tones, am really umming and arrring if to JB the 4 to modify the tones. I guess once the tones are changed you can take it off?
     

Share This Page