Loading programs from imac?

Discussion in 'MacBook Air' started by Kurri, Oct 8, 2012.

  1. Kurri macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2009
    #1
    Can you load programs from your imac to your macbook air? I have final draft i want to put on my macbook air when i get it on thursday. Do i have to buy the superdrive? or can i just load it from my imac to my air?

    thanks!
     
  2. needfx macrumors 68040

    needfx

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2010
    Location:
    macrumors apparently
    #2
    I think Migration is the way to go
     
  3. Kurri thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2009
    #3
    I have never used migration so i wasnt sure if migration worked with loading programs. dont really want to have to buy a superdrive.
     
  4. needfx macrumors 68040

    needfx

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2010
    Location:
    macrumors apparently
    #4
    I have tried migration twice, and I have failed miserably.

    if you have another computer with a cdrom drive, you can use it via wifi/ethernet as a remote cdrom
     
  5. DoctorCrap macrumors regular

    DoctorCrap

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2012
    Location:
    Penang, Malaysia
    #5
    I Airdrop everything.
    If possible use Migration.
    Or find the data files and simply transfer it over to your MBA.
    This is simple stuff.
     
  6. Kurri thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2009
    #6
    never thought about airdropping the program itself. that might work too. i'm sure its a simple fix just wanted to make sure or else i would have bought the superdrive.
     

Share This Page