Local DNS on Leopard OSX Server

Discussion in 'Mac OS X Server, Xserve, and Networking' started by rjcab, Aug 19, 2009.

  1. rjcab macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2009
    #1
    Hi all,

    I got OSX Leopard Server 10.5.6 and I am looking for how can I configure my local DNS for my local network.
    At home I have 5 PC and I would like to register all IP of theses machines by a name in OSX Server but I didn't understand how can I do with the DNS service in Leopard. I dont have a domain name.

    Thanks for your response.
     
  2. rjcab thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2009
  3. Zjef macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2008
    #3
    Dear rjcab,

    Sure I can help (among others). But what are your specific needs? What is your knowledge and what did you try yourself? Where did you get stuck? What is working, what is not?

    Did you study Apple's manuals on the subject? Googled for relevant info. Followed a course or classroom training?

    Last but not least, why an Applie server to accomplish what exactly?

    Sorry for the above, I didn't wan't to be rude but I think if you get my point, you know why you didn' get any response.


    Anyway, roughly it goes like this:
    1. the tool you need to use is Server Admin (installed with the server)
    2. open the settings tab
    3. enable DNS
    4. Save
    5. configure the DNS for the machine your using as server with both a FQDN (fully qualified domain name) and a reverse look up.
    6. Run the service by hitting the button "Start DNS"

    One word of advice, when you screw up the initial set up of the DNS server, you better re-install Leopard server.

    You can choose any name to be your DNS (my.dns), when it is a local network. When it is hooked up on the internet its best to play safe and register a domain name.


    Last but not least, you also want to look up some information regarding BIND since that is the engine Apple is using.
     
  4. TheCoupe macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2009
    Location:
    Northern Ireland
    #4
    Hi, firstly, you will need to create a Primary Master zone for your internal network, such as mydomain.home. (remember the trailing '.'), this will by default create an ns record with a ptr record for 10.0.0.1.
    If you are happy with the ns record for the server, leave it there, but select it and modify it's IP address to that of your server.

    Next up, you then simply need to add additional Machines (A records) for each additional computer you wish to use and make sure your other computers are all running on static internal IP addresses.

    You can verify your new A records by looking in the reverse lookup, ie, if your server IP is 192.168.1.254, you would look in the link 1.168.192.in-addr.arpa. which should give you a list of all IP's being used under that IP range and what names they attach to.

    Finally, after a quick reboot, do a few checks to make sure everything is good to go:
    open terminal (/Applications/Utilities) and type the following:
    host 192.168.1.254 <return> (replace with your server IP)
    host ns.mydomain.home <return> replace with the full domain assigned to your server
    sudo changeip -checkhostname <return> (enter your admin password)

    You should get results similar to:
    254.1.168.192.in-addr.arpa domain name pointer ns.mydomain.home
    ---
    ns.mydomain.home has address 192.168.1.254
    ---
    Primary address = 192.168.1.254
    Current HostName = ns.mydomain.home
    DNS HostName = ns.mydomain.home
    The names match. There is nothing to change.

    If all is good, just set the DNS of your client machines to that of your new server and you're good to go.
     
  5. 8Limes macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2008
    #5
    All the info was nice and great but this is a total cow disaster (edited). ;) i re-configured mine multiple times so far. and is all good.
     
  6. rjcab thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2009
    #6
    Thanks all

    I did but I'd like to know if my local DNS can work if I don't have Domain Name.
    And if not I can buy one but I'd like to know if I can change my IP address without any fees because I will move for another place.

    Thanks
     
  7. ladyson macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    #7
    There are many registrars to register you a domain name.

    DYNDNS.org is agood provider of external DNS services also.
     
  8. Zjef macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2008
    #8
    Just to make sure you have the complete picture.

    Regarding your question, there remains 2 basic options. Either you're setting up a public or a private DNS server. Both can be operating locally:rolleyes:

    When it is private DNS there is no issue with having your public IP changed by an ISP. Just adjust your router settings for the public side of your network and keep your private settings untouched.

    When you talk about a public DNS server that might be a different game. It is do-able but there are quite some technical stuff you're required to know. When you don't feel comfortable about the technical level of expertiece the alternative mentioned by ladyson is a valid option (among others).
     

Share This Page