Locating and Deleting in Terminal Mode

Discussion in 'macOS' started by Meishka, Nov 18, 2008.

  1. Meishka macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2008
    #1
    Help!!

    I need to reinstall Leopard (Mac has crashed) and need 11 Gb free.... I need to delete some files!

    I remember that I have a number of ripped avi's on my desktop which I can re-rip. But I cannot work out how to find my user area in Terminal mode where all my files etc are stored.

    CAn anyone hep me?

    I assume that I can use the Terminal Mode from the installation disk to remove the files and then reinstall..

    Help?

    Any commands etc gratefully received
     
  2. dcubed20 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2008
  3. Cerebrus' Maw macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2008
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia
    #3
    And just to add to the above command:

    ls -l to bring up a list of your files on the desktop,
    rm [filename] to remove the file

    Good luck!
     
  4. dcubed20 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2008
    #4
    good call, rm -r to remove a folder, too
     
  5. Meishka thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2008
    #5
    Still having problems!

    I tried the command and no luck

    Please note that I am running OS from the start up disk as my Mac is ill!

    I tyrin Terminal I have the following

    -bash-3.2

    I typed cd tilde/Desktop

    and got cd: /var/root/Desktop: No such file or directory as a response

    By navigating using cd .. I can see Volumes and the Macintosh HD. I have tried switching to this directory and no luck, it will not let me see it.

    I typed

    cd Macintosh HD

    and got another error!

    I guess my files are in this area!

    Help!
     
  6. swiftaw macrumors 603

    swiftaw

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2005
    Location:
    Omaha, NE, USA
    #6
    Type:

    cd /
    cd Users/<username>/Desktop/

    where you replace <username> with your actual username


     
  7. mknawabi macrumors 6502

    mknawabi

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2006
    Location:
    Irvine, CA
  8. mknawabi macrumors 6502

    mknawabi

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2006
    Location:
    Irvine, CA
    #8
    ah anyway

    when you are trying to change directory to a directory with a space in it, you need to enclose the directory name in quotes. For example, cd "Macintosh HD"

    Also, use tab completion to your advantage. Type in the first 3 letters, and hit tab and it will automatically fill in the rest for you.
     
  9. Meishka thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2008
    #9
    Thanks!

    Guys,

    Superb advice, Drive located, information deleted and currently installing OS!

    The best thing about this exercise is that due to Bootcamp I have been able to still use my machine! and log onto forums to get help. It really is 2 machines in one. Although I must admit that it is not right seeing the windows logo on a Mac..

    Will see what gives, 14 minutes of installation left before my baby is ready to rock and roll.

    Hopefully there will be no problems...
     
  10. Meishka thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2008
    #10
    Success...

    Life is back too normal....

    Mac up and running....
     

Share This Page