"Location could not be determined" - ok, I GET IT

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by ss957916, Aug 10, 2009.

  1. ss957916 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2009
    #1
    I'm on wifi in an area with no cell signal. I'm on google maps searching around and every 30secs get a message telling me that my location could not be determined. So I press ok cos I couldn't care less.

    But it pops up again.

    And again.

    And again!!

    SHUT UP! Why won't it get the message that I JUST DON'T CARE?!
     
  2. -aggie- macrumors P6

    -aggie-

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2009
    Location:
    Where bunnies are welcome.
    #2
    Just turn off location services, until you want to use it.
     
  3. Bacong macrumors 68000

    Bacong

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2009
    Location:
    Westland, Michigan
  4. ss957916 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2009
    #4
    I COULD do that - but doing that each time is equally annoying.
     
  5. The General macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2006
    #5
    Weird, I just tried to recreate your issue by turning airplane mode on and then turning wifi.

    Then I realized GPS works on the 3G S and/or 3.0 with airplane mode on. It didn't used to be like this.

    Anyway, if that button on the bottom left keeps spinning and spinning and spinning, just tap it and it will stop trying to locate you, thus getting rid of those pop ups.

    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Assisted_GPS
     
  6. ss957916 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2009
    #6
    I haven't asked it to locate me - the blue disk isn't spinning - it's just telling me over and over that it doesn't know where I am.

    It's like a nagging child. Very annoying!!
     
  7. -aggie- macrumors P6

    -aggie-

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2009
    Location:
    Where bunnies are welcome.
    #7
    Yes, the GPS is totally separate. It's been that way since the 3G, if not before. When you use airplane mode, it turns of location services, but you can turn it right back on.

    And your way is another way to fix their issue.

    Or not! :)

    Are you in a city or something that has really high buildings?
    A canyon?
     
  8. cmaier macrumors G3

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2007
    Location:
    California
    #8
    So, you're in google maps, and you have location mode turned on, in a program that uses that, and you don't like it telling you it can't figure out where you are?

    "Doctor, it hurts when I do this..."
     
  9. -aggie- macrumors P6

    -aggie-

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2009
    Location:
    Where bunnies are welcome.
    #9
    Then don't do that! :)
     
  10. ss957916 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2009
    #10
    BUt does it have to tell me over and over and over and over and over and over and over and over again?
     
  11. cmaier macrumors G3

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2007
    Location:
    California
    #11
    If you keep doing it, then yes :)
     
  12. mappyman macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #12
    I miss the old way where it would pop up and allow you to switch it on from that popup message.
     
  13. Interstella5555 macrumors 603

    Interstella5555

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2008
    #13
    If you know how to make the child be quiet, it seems to be more a case of bad parenting...
     
  14. ss957916 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2009
    #14
    How do I make it stop? (apart from spending all day going into settings and turning location services on and off depending on whether I have a signal)

    surely I'm not the only one that thinks having the same message pop-up time after time is annoying and unnecessary?
     
  15. The General macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2006
    #15
    READ:

    TAP THE BUTTON AT THE BOTTOM LEFT.

    Done.
     

Share This Page