Location Feature in 2.1

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by MotionxxUSxx, Sep 12, 2008.

  1. MotionxxUSxx macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2007
    #1
    Does this still work the same way as in previous versions of the firmware. I was hoping that if a app turned location services on, after closing the app it would turn location services off? Can someone confirm

    Thanks
     
  2. spyz88 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2008
    #2
    If you have location services off, a new box will come up asking you if you want to go to the settings instead of just OK or cancel.
     
  3. mcdj macrumors 604

    mcdj

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2007
    Location:
    NYC
    #3
    Wirelessly posted (iPhone: Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU iPhone OS 2_1 like Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/525.18.1 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/3.1.1 Mobile/5F136 Safari/525.20)

    This is totally annoying. Now you have to go to settings and turn on locations then go back to the app you were using.
     
  4. MotionxxUSxx thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2007
    #4
    When you leave the app does it turn it off?
     
  5. rockinrocker macrumors 65816

    rockinrocker

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2006
    #5
    yeah, sounds like a step backwards to me.
     
  6. jamestemroot macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2007
    #6
    Completely a step backwards...it now takes 5 clicks to turn it on from maps and back into maps to use it, instead of 'ALLOW' :mad:

     
  7. MotionxxUSxx thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2007
    #7
    The only thing I can think of, is that they fixed something with the gps and battery and that if you leave it on, it will not affect battery life when it is not actually being used by a app.
     
  8. jamestemroot macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2007
    #8
    I hope so, will try to test this out over the next few days...but if this was the case, why even have an ON / OFF switch for location services?
     
  9. psywzrd macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2008
    #9
    Very true. It would be nice to get some sort of clarification from Apple on this.
     
  10. redman042 macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2008
    #10
    I just tried maps and it didn't ask me for location permission again. Not sure why others are having this problem.

    Is it me or is Google Maps performing much better now? Seems to load maps from the cache much faster for one thing.
     

Share This Page