Lock down...

Discussion in 'macOS' started by smilinmonki666, Feb 25, 2008.

  1. smilinmonki666 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2008
    #1
    Ok, just a quick question. Is there a way to lock OS X without having to close any apps running. I'm trying to convert .vob's via HandBrake but need the computer locked as I will not be near the machine? Is there anyway of doing this without having to log off? in windows I can lock the computer & leave programs running?

    Cheers
     
  2. Peace macrumors Core

    Peace

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2005
    Location:
    Space--The ONLY Frontier
    #2
    Let the screensaver go with password protection. That won't stop the encoding.
     
  3. IgnatiusTheKing macrumors 68040

    IgnatiusTheKing

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2007
    Location:
    das Fort
    #3
    Just make sure it won't go to sleep before it finishes.
     
  4. smilinmonki666 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2008
    #4
    how do you go about this in Lep then? I've searched for ages but with no luck? in settings & everywhere????

    :confused::(
     
  5. xUKHCx Administrator emeritus

    xUKHCx

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2006
    Location:
    The Kop
    #5
    Or open Keychain Access found in utilities

    Then keychain access - preferences - General - Show Status in menu bar. This will put a little lock icon on your menu bar over on the right and you can Lock screen from their.

    It is essentially the same thing as Peace said but slightly different way of activating it.

    edit:

    System Preferences - Security - Require Password to wake this computer from sleep or screensaver.
     
  6. TEG macrumors 604

    TEG

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2002
    Location:
    Langley, Washington
    #6
    Open up Keychain Access in the Utilities folder, activate the preferences, turn on menu status. Then you can lock the screen instantly by selecting the new lock icon on the menubar and choosing "Lock Screen".

    TEG
     
  7. Peace macrumors Core

    Peace

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2005
    Location:
    Space--The ONLY Frontier
    #7
    Open preferences and click on Expose'

    Make sure a corner is set to start the screensaver :
     

    Attached Files:

  8. smilinmonki666 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2008
    #8
    Cheers guys, i knew it would be somewhere. Its my dads iMac & didn't wanna mess with it. Still new to OS X. Can't wait to get my iMac.

    Again, thank you for your help...
     
  9. LinuXtreme macrumors regular

    LinuXtreme

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2007
    Location:
    Near Aspen
    #9
    I also like the ability to lock my system when I leave it unattended. Here's what I did:

    You can set the screensaver to lock by going to System Preferences > Security and selecting "Require password to wake this computer from sleep or screensaver".

    Then, a great way to start the screensaver (thus password protecting your system) is to use Expose. Go to System Preferences > Dashboard and Expose and choose one of the items under Active Screen Corners (I did the upper right-hand one) and select Start Screen Saver. From now on, you just have to move your mouse pointer to the corner you chose in order to lock the screen.

    Edit: I see some people beat me to it! Oh well, at least you can use my instructions for password protecting the screensaver...
     
  10. smilinmonki666 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2008
    #10
    OK, using OS X 10.5.2 but not working on the wake from sleep? Any guess why?

    Got it working, had to disable it first...
     
  11. smilinmonki666 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2008
    #11
    Ok, so I've sorted the lock screen out, & it works. My problem now is that HandBrake was causing an error when the scree was locked. Anyone else have this problem???
     

Share This Page