Lock Issue iOS 5 on iPhone

Discussion in 'iOS 5 and earlier' started by crazedcujo, Oct 13, 2011.

  1. crazedcujo, Oct 13, 2011
    Last edited: Oct 13, 2011

    crazedcujo macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2011
    #1
    I have a passcode on my phone …. And the new version allows the camera to be used when phone is locked. So I took a photo, viewed the photo using the Camera Roll button but when you hit the home button – it takes you right in to the phone – no code needed

    I hope this gets fixed ASAP. I'm using an iPhone 4 - anyone else have this issue?
     
  2. nebo1ss macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2010
    #2
    If this is real here comes the next version of IOS5.
     
  3. batting1000 macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2011
    Location:
    Florida
    #3
    Works how it's supposed to on my iPod touch 4.
     
  4. garts macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2011
  5. Stardotboy macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Location:
    Manchester, UK
    #5
    Tried to replicate this on my iPhone 4, but works as it should do for me.
     
  6. Lukeyy19 macrumors 6502a

    Lukeyy19

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2010
    Location:
    England, UK
    #6
    Nope, it will only let you view the image you have just taken, you can't even see any of the other images in the Camera Roll, and when I pressed the home button again, it asked me for the Passcode.
     
  7. iAd4m macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2010
    #7
    hmm, just tried what the op suggests and I don't get any security hole.
    It doesn't take me into the phone but back to the code screen
     
  8. likethesoup2 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2011
    Location:
    Orlando, Florida
    #8
    Doesn't do that on my ipod touch 4 either.

    Works perfectly and goes back to the lock screen.
     
  9. GoCubsGo macrumors Nehalem

    GoCubsGo

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2005
    #9
    OP any way to record what you're experiencing?
     
  10. Hawksberry macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2011
    #10
    I just tested it with my iPhone 4 and didn't have the issue. It told me my phone was locked.
     
  11. Sir Ruben macrumors 65816

    Sir Ruben

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2010
    #11
    Its happened because you have previously unlocked your phone then locked it again but its not at the point again where it needs to ask for the password. Simples no?
     
  12. mickbab macrumors 65816

    mickbab

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2008
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    #12
    No.

    But to actually be helpful is there a time limit set on your passcode or is it required immediately? (I think this is what the above poster also means)
     
  13. crazedcujo thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2011
    #13
    Settings

    Ok I changed the passcode lock setting to "Require Passcode - Immediately" and it is now working as it should. I did have it on 15 mins with the Auto-Lock on 5 minutes. Maybe that made the difference? If I caught it after the 5 mins but before 15 mins it doesn't ask for the passcode.

    Very strange.
     
  14. garts macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2011
    #14
    That isn't strange. That's how it should work.
     
  15. GoCubsGo macrumors Nehalem

    GoCubsGo

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2005
    #15
    So this boils down to user error and not HUGE OMFGZOMGWTFBBQ SECURITY FLAW?!!!111one!?

    Strange no. The way it should work, yes.

    Change your thread title to "OOPS, look what I just found out!"
     
  16. antifeik macrumors regular

    antifeik

    Joined:
    May 24, 2011
    #16
    yup...:rolleyes:
     
  17. NeighborMike macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2010
    #17
    If i do this it only lets me function around in the camera app, i cant get to my phone, i have a password also
     
  18. crazedcujo thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2011
    #18
    Auto Lock

    I would think the "Auto-Lock" .... would still require the Passcode for the camera. So I guess it could be user error - but I'm sure a lot of people will find it useful.

    I still love my iPhone even though it does that. :p
     
  19. GoCubsGo macrumors Nehalem

    GoCubsGo

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2005
    #19
    FWIW, I found it useful but I find the thread title sensational and necessary. So now that you know it is not a security flaw that would otherwise freak the **** out of people, change the title and it remains a helpful thread without the doomsday feel.
     
  20. crazedcujo thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2011
    #20
    Fixed

    LOL you guys are funny on here... I fixed the "doomsday" feel of the title.
     
  21. Lukeyy19 macrumors 6502a

    Lukeyy19

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2010
    Location:
    England, UK
    #21
    I don't even see how that title is appropriate? there is no issue.

    you have your phone set to only ask for a passcode after being locked for 15 minutes, it didn't ask for a passcode when you hadn't had it locked for 15 minutes, where is the Lock Issue?
     

Share This Page