Lock my mac ?

Discussion in 'iMac' started by tego10122, Mar 4, 2008.

  1. tego10122 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2008
    #1
    um I use to do Windows key + L everytime i left my home office so no one would snoop around is there any way I can lock my mac?
     
  2. lololepro macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2008
    Location:
    Florida & Switzerland
    #2
    I have the bottom right corner set to "start screen saver" in "Expose & Spaces"
    I also have "Require password to wake this computer from sleep or screen saver" active in "Security"
    When I point the mouse to the selected corner of the screen it goes into screen saver and the password is needed to wake...
    Hope this helps...

    L.
     
  3. tego10122 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2008
    #3
    Done. , What are your top best apps for mac. I am a newb to mac.
     
  4. pacmania1982 macrumors 6502a

    pacmania1982

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2006
    Location:
    Birmingham, UK
    #4
    One thing I like to do is enable user switching, so it shows your login name in the menu bar, so when you move away from your desk, you just choose show login screen and you get the funky 3D cube rotate. When you get back to your desk, type in your password and you get the funky 3D cube rotate back to your desktop.

    Makes your co-workers go crazy the first time they see it ;0)

    pac
     
  5. ergdegdeg Moderator emeritus

    ergdegdeg

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2007
    #5
    Try this little widget to achieve the same thing with a little less effort :)
     
  6. johto macrumors 6502

    johto

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2008
    Location:
    Finland
    #6
    No need for any widgets, there is a "locking" feature already build in:

    [​IMG]


    To enable this feature, open the utility "Keychain Access" and check this option inside its preferences:

    [​IMG]
    :)
     
  7. pazreal macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2007
    Location:
    Salt Lake City, UT
  8. xUKHCx Administrator emeritus

    xUKHCx

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2006
    Location:
    The Kop
    #8
    And if you want to take it further so you can have a keyboard shortcut then

    System Preferences - Keyboard & Mouse - Keyboard Shortcuts

    Picture 2.png

    Chose something that isn't in use (although you will have to guess if it is used or not because it doesn't report a conflict) For example the shortcut I tried cmd+shift+l seems to be lookup in google for all applications so try something else. You can add shortcut to specific applications or system wide with this method.

    Picture 3.png

    Then you will have to log out and log back in again but

    Picture 4.png
     
  9. nout72 macrumors regular

    nout72

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2007
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    #9
    Another way is to activate "fast user switching"

    Preference pane "Accounts" > Login Options > Enable fast user switching
    [​IMG]

    This way you can log out without quiting applications and your password is needed to login again.
     

Share This Page