Locked MacBook with 'Find my iPhone'

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by BreakGuy, Nov 6, 2012.

  1. BreakGuy macrumors 6502a

    BreakGuy

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2009
    Location:
    NZ, South Pacific
    #1
    So I was playing around with the Find my iPhone app and remotely locked my MacBook. The MacBook shut down and restarted but I was never prompted to enter the passcode that I set when locking it via my iPhone.

    Everything works fine on it but now it's still showing as locked in the Find my iPhone app.

    Question is, how do I get my MacBook to show as unlocked?
     
  2. roxxette macrumors 68000

    roxxette

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2011
    #2
    Log out of find my iphone then go back in to check if is status changed, sometimes it hangs
     
  3. BreakGuy thread starter macrumors 6502a

    BreakGuy

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2009
    Location:
    NZ, South Pacific
    #3
    It's still showing as locked even after logging out and back in.
     
  4. roxxette macrumors 68000

    roxxette

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2011
    #4
    Disable the option and check again, that should kind of reset everything?
     
  5. roxxette macrumors 68000

    roxxette

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2011
    #5
    I mean the location/findmyiphone option on your mac.
     
  6. BreakGuy thread starter macrumors 6502a

    BreakGuy

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2009
    Location:
    NZ, South Pacific
    #6
    Sorry, what option?

    ----------

    I just checked under System Pref > iCloud and found that the Find my Mac was disabled. I rechecked the box and it's showing as unlocked on my iPhone now.

    Strange... wouldn't one expect that if you lock your mac with a passcode, there should be a prompt to enter the passcode before being able to resume use of the MacBook?
     
  7. roxxette macrumors 68000

    roxxette

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2011
    #7
    In preference on mac, go to icloud options and disable the findmyiphone on the mac.
     
  8. roxxette macrumors 68000

    roxxette

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2011
    #8
    I cant comment on the passcode lock but i will try it right now, brb :)
     
  9. BreakGuy thread starter macrumors 6502a

    BreakGuy

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2009
    Location:
    NZ, South Pacific
    #9
    Yea I don't hold much confidence in the Lock system if my MacBook ever was actually stolen or missing. :confused:
     
  10. roxxette macrumors 68000

    roxxette

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2011
    #10
    Ok so i locked my air, restarted by itself to these lockscreen:

    [​IMG]

    (Sorry for crappy ipad picture lol)

    I shutdown 2 times and both came to these screen.
     
  11. roxxette macrumors 68000

    roxxette

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2011
    #11
    Lol you can password protect the firmware and that way render it useless for other people when they think about changing the hardrive/ssd; satisfaction ;)
     
  12. BreakGuy thread starter macrumors 6502a

    BreakGuy

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2009
    Location:
    NZ, South Pacific
    #12
    I never got that at all. Mine just shut down and restarted itself as if I had done it myself. Once booted it brought up the login screen which is normal and I entered my password.. voila I'm in. No need for the passcode..

    ----------

    While true, if someone were to take it and just reinstall the OS on the existing HDD they'd be able to.
     
  13. roxxette macrumors 68000

    roxxette

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2011
  14. roxxette macrumors 68000

    roxxette

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2011
    #14
    Try the lockdown thing again, mine restarted by itself everytime to that lockscreen.
     
  15. atrchy macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2013
    #15
    Lock macpro

    The lock screen doesn't appear to my macpro? What shall I do? Please help :confused:
     
  16. roxxette macrumors 68000

    roxxette

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2011
    #16
    Uh ? What did you get ? Plus what exactly is your problem.
     
  17. atrchy macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2013
    #17
    Question mark icon appeared :confused:
     
  18. B... macrumors 68000

    B...

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2013
    #18
    So when you try to boot up your MacPro, a question mark appears? Do an install of the OS again; google how to do a recovery on Intel based Macs.
     
  19. roxxette macrumors 68000

    roxxette

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2011
    #19
    I think that question mark is related to hd issues but turn off and on and see if it comes.

    Btw did you locked your mac with findmyiphone or this is just a random issue ?
     
  20. atrchy macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2013
    #20
    I used the findmyiphone.. :confused: I already turned it off and on but still the flashing folder with question mark appeared.
     
  21. atrchy macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2013
    #21
    Flashing Folder with ???
     

    Attached Files:

Share This Page