Locked Out Of Osx Cant Boot From Cd To Reinstall

Discussion in 'macOS' started by gosicangel, Jul 25, 2010.

  1. gosicangel macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010
    #1
    Hi sorry if this is the wrong forum in advance.
    Im pretty new to mac and have a dual core 27" imac.

    Long story short i made one acc on my mac and forgot the pass for that account.
    I can seem to boot from the install disk that came with my imac.

    If I hold down the option key i can see to boot osx, windows or the istall disk.
    aiaf I select the install disk i just get the white screen, apple logo with the never ending spinning bar.

    The exact same happens when i hold down c on reboot. When I hold shift down what appears like an update bar starts loading but goes straight back to installed os on hd.

    I can even boot from a windows cd holding down c but cant access that either.

    Really at a loss:confused: The data is not vthat important as its just some site backups i have and their content and I can always recover them later.

    Many thanks for any input or help in advance:)
     
  2. TheBritishBloke macrumors 68030

    TheBritishBloke

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2009
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    #2
    Don't know if it will help. But you could reset the pram and smc. Just google how to reset it.
     
  3. gosicangel thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010
    #4
    hi spinnerlys
    is that link to the blog post he same as http://www.creativetechs.com/iq/reset_a_lost_m
    ac_os_x_password.html
    ? cant see main post on that link could be ps3 browser
    because the mac install cd just hangs when trying anything with it

    also thanks TheBritishBloke i may have to try that
     
  4. DewGuy1999 macrumors 68040

    DewGuy1999

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    #5
    Did you set up a normal account password or a Open Firmware Password? If it's a Open Firmware Password that pretty much locks down the Mac unless it can be remembered. This Apple doc explains more about Open Firmware Password:

    :apple: Setting up firmware password protection in Mac OS X

    and here's a Apple doc for:
    :apple: Resetting your Mac's PRAM and NVRAM
     
  5. gosicangel thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010
    #6
    that sounds exactly like what i did was off me face p and paranoid set up a big huge encrypted pass.

    :(
     
  6. DewGuy1999 macrumors 68040

    DewGuy1999

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    #7
    Since I posted that response, I've learned (thanks Hrududu & 666sheep)that apparently if you change the RAM configuration (remove a stick, add a stick, etc.) and then follow it with a triple PRAM reset, it will reset the Open Firmware Password and allow you to access the Mac.
     
  7. phatqao macrumors member

    phatqao

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2010
    Location:
    PA and/or NYC
    #8
    very simple fix for a forgotten password: boot into single-user mode with Cmd+S at the chime, then enter the following
    Code:
    /sbin/fsck -fy
    /sbin/mount -uw /
    launchctl load /System/Library/LaunchDaemons/com.apple.DirectoryServices.plist
    passwd <your_account_name_here>
    reboot
     
  8. gosicangel thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010
    #9

    Just get permissions denied. thanks for your input

    Thanks
    DewGuy1999 I may give that a try later or in the morning.


    Many thanks again to anyone replied
     
  9. macpro2000 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2005
  10. phatqao macrumors member

    phatqao

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2010
    Location:
    PA and/or NYC
    #11
    you mean your permission to edit the password is denied when you try these steps? if so, sorry - i didn't realize that could happen as root. i guess there's a first time for everything though.
     
  11. DewGuy1999 macrumors 68040

    DewGuy1999

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    #12
    In the case of the OP he's set an Open Firmware password, I think the method you posted only works for user account passwords.
     
  12. Sun Baked macrumors G5

    Sun Baked

    Joined:
    May 19, 2002
    #13
    can't you reset the firmware password by changing the amount of RAM in the machine?

    sort of a pointless password protection method these days, since you can change the RAM, reboot the machine, boot into single user, then delete the AppleSetupDone file

    All this without ever touching a DVD.
     
  13. DewGuy1999 macrumors 68040

    DewGuy1999

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    #14
    Supposedly so. I posted that earlier in the thread.
     
  14. gosicangel thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010
    #15
    Your all ********* epic.
    Thanks a million got back into me mac.

    Took out a stick of ram done a triple pram reset, booted into single user and had root:D

    Many Many Many Many Many Many thanks guys:D:D
     
  15. phatqao macrumors member

    phatqao

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2010
    Location:
    PA and/or NYC
  16. DewGuy1999 macrumors 68040

    DewGuy1999

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009

Share This Page