Locked Out Of Osx Cant Boot From Cd To Reinstall

gosicangel

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jul 25, 2010
Hi sorry if this is the wrong forum in advance.
Im pretty new to mac and have a dual core 27" imac.

Long story short i made one acc on my mac and forgot the pass for that account.
I can seem to boot from the install disk that came with my imac.

If I hold down the option key i can see to boot osx, windows or the istall disk.
aiaf I select the install disk i just get the white screen, apple logo with the never ending spinning bar.

The exact same happens when i hold down c on reboot. When I hold shift down what appears like an update bar starts loading but goes straight back to installed os on hd.

I can even boot from a windows cd holding down c but cant access that either.

Really at a loss:confused: The data is not vthat important as its just some site backups i have and their content and I can always recover them later.

Many thanks for any input or help in advance:)

DewGuy1999

macrumors 68040
Jan 25, 2009
hi spinnerlys
is that link to the blog post he same as http://www.creativetechs.com/iq/reset_a_lost_m
ac_os_x_password.html
? cant see main post on that link could be ps3 browser
because the mac install cd just hangs when trying anything with it

also thanks TheBritishBloke i may have to try that
Did you set up a normal account password or a Open Firmware Password? If it's a Open Firmware Password that pretty much locks down the Mac unless it can be remembered. This Apple doc explains more about Open Firmware Password:

:apple: Setting up firmware password protection in Mac OS X

and here's a Apple doc for:
:apple: Resetting your Mac's PRAM and NVRAM

gosicangel

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jul 25, 2010

DewGuy1999

macrumors 68040
Jan 25, 2009
that sounds exactly like what i did was off me face p and paranoid set up a big huge encrypted pass.

:(