Locking an iMac to just the internet

Discussion in 'iMac' started by karlmarx934, Feb 11, 2008.

  1. karlmarx934 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2008
    #1
    Hi There,

    Im wondering if it is possible to lock an iMac or MacBook to just be able to use the internet on it.

    Please can someone help me regarding this, or let me know where to look in order to find out how to do this?

    Thanks in Advance

    karlmarx934
     
  2. samh004 macrumors 68020

    samh004

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2004
    Location:
    Australia
    #2
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPod; U; CPU like Mac OS X; en) AppleWebKit/420.1 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/3.0 Mobile/4A93 Safari/419.3)

    You can probably set a parental control along these lines if need be.
     
  3. AreYouAMac macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2008
    #3
    Hi,

    Sorry, but I am uncertain as what you would want to do. Just to ONLY have the internet available on the iMac with no other programs? The only thing that I could think of, is just to drag all of the other programs to the trash, and empty it....BUT only leaving Safari, and the Utilities folder.
     
  4. arkitect macrumors 601

    arkitect

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2005
    Location:
    Bath, United Kingdom
    #4
    Well I guess if you remove all other apps apart from say Mail and Safari or Firefox you'll have an Internet-only machine…

    Just set the prefs so no one else can install anything and hey presto.

    Question is though: Why? :confused: :)
     
  5. karlmarx934 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2008
    #5
    Any idea how i can manage that?

    Thanks
     
  6. karlmarx934 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2008
    #6
    Why....

    Reason being that i want it to just showcase my work website, and a Mac would be the best way to do it, if its possible (as we use only Mac here anyway) but otherwise ill just use a PC with a full lockdown of everything else except internet on it.

    :)
     
  7. wordmunger macrumors 603

    wordmunger

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2003
    Location:
    North Carolina
    #7
    Just send me the computer and I'll set it up for you ;)

    Seriously, just go into parental controls in your system preferences and click on the things you want. It's not hard.
     
  8. 156457 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #8
    You can have it so only one site can be access on one app (safari).

    Just go into System Preferences, then parental controls and the account you're going to be using enable the controls and only tick the Safari app (or whatever browser you wanna use) then in one of the option tabs you can set only one website to be accessed.

    :)
     
  9. samh004 macrumors 68020

    samh004

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2004
    Location:
    Australia
    #9
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPod; U; CPU like Mac OS X; en) AppleWebKit/420.1 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/3.0 Mobile/4A93 Safari/419.3)

    Look in system preferences, you'll first need to set up a second non-admin account. You can then set program access to only safari etc. No need to trash applications.
     
  10. IgnatiusTheKing macrumors 68040

    IgnatiusTheKing

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2007
    Location:
    das Fort
    #10
    I agree with samh004. Just set up an account and only allow it access to Safari.
     
  11. JSchwage macrumors 6502a

    JSchwage

    Joined:
    May 5, 2006
    Location:
    Rochester, NY
    #11
    I'd recommend trying a piece of software called wKiosk.
     
  12. skinnylegs macrumors 65816

    skinnylegs

    Joined:
    May 8, 2006
    Location:
    San Diego
  13. TEG macrumors 604

    TEG

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2002
    Location:
    Langley, Washington
    #13
    If I'm not mistaken, the Saft plugin for Safari can force it full screen and require a password to change programs. It can also be set to return the browser to a particular page after a set period of inactivity.

    TEG
     
  14. GimmeSlack12 macrumors 603

    GimmeSlack12

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2005
    Location:
    San Francisco
    #14
    You could setup your firewall to only allow the HTTP and WWW ports to operate. This sounds harder than it is. You can either do this (set the firewall) through OS X or through your Router. But you want to block all ports* except port 80. You can do this by going into System Prefs>Security>Firewall and "Set Access For Specific Services and Apps" you will then find the programs you do not want the internet to access and select Block Incoming.

    Through your router you'll actually use your MAC address or IP and block all ports except port 80 (they're might be more to it than that, but nothing I can think of).

    *Ports are virtual doorways that allow the passing of information from your computer to an outside source (i.e. the internet). When a firewall is used it closes and locks all of these doors, except for the ones that you leave open.
    I hope that analogy makes sense to you.
     

Share This Page