Locking the side panel

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by mattspace, Aug 16, 2015.

  1. mattspace macrumors 6502

    mattspace

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2013
    Location:
    Australia
    #1
    my 2nd hand 2009 dual seems to have a side panel from a 2008 model, at least the ram upgrade pictograms don't match the internals of this machine. What ive just discovered is that the panel pops off without unlocking the lever on the back (which I assume is not supposed to happen). Would anyone mind posting a photo of the inside of the panel from a 2009 so i can see the differences?

    My suspicion is that it's missing some structure that something on the 2009 latches onto...

    Thanks.
     
  2. blacka4 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2009
    Location:
    Pittsburgh
    #2
    if you don't get one today I'll take a picture tonight of my 2010. they are identical
     
  3. Fuchal macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2003
  4. mattspace thread starter macrumors 6502

    mattspace

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2013
    Location:
    Australia
    #4
    Thanks folks - i actually think it may be an older panel than 2008. Re-examining it, the pictograms show what appears to be a molded plastic insert that goes behind the panel... Did that continue post powermac g5?
     
  5. blacka4 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2009
    Location:
    Pittsburgh
  6. ActionableMango macrumors 604

    ActionableMango

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    #6
    This is from my 2010, but it's the exact same part for 2009, 2010, and 2012 Mac Pros:

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
  7. mattspace thread starter macrumors 6502

    mattspace

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2013
    Location:
    Australia
    #7
    looks like the door on mine is significantly different. I wonder if it could cause any problems...
    image.jpg
     
  8. ScottishCaptain macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2008
    #8
    Uh, that's from a G5, not a Mac Pro...

    -SC
     
  9. mattspace thread starter macrumors 6502

    mattspace

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2013
    Location:
    Australia
    #9
    Yup, thats where my suspicions were heading...
     
  10. SoyCapitanSoyCapitan macrumors 68040

    SoyCapitanSoyCapitan

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2015
    #10
    Is there any way to have a key lockable side panel?
     
  11. flowrider macrumors 601

    flowrider

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2012
    #11
    The Big key here is the OPs door shows (in the picts on the door) a Mac with only one optical drive (Power Mac G5) not two (a Mac Pro). I don't believe it will cause any issues though, as long as it stays in place.

    Lou
     
  12. ScottishCaptain macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2008
    #12
    It won't stay in place, and forcing it will probably damage the computer.

    The locking bars from either computer are different. The G5 locking bar only has three clips on it, whereas the Mac Pro has four. Only the two outermost clips will line up if you stick a G5 panel on a Mac Pro, the two innermost clips will be pushed into the chassis where run you run the risk of either bending the locking bar assembly or snapping off the clips.

    It's really the wrong part. It might kinda fit, but neither the chassis nor the panel were designed to mate together.

    -SC
     
  13. mbosse macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2015
    Location:
    Vienna, Austria
    #13
    Every cMP side panel is key lockable ex factory - kind of, if you use a u-lock.
     
  14. mattspace thread starter macrumors 6502

    mattspace

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2013
    Location:
    Australia
    #14
    I actually think the locking tabs on the drive sleds, which seem to be what key into the cover, are at a completely different height on the cMP and PMG5, so they don't even come into contact in my particular situation.

    If it bugs me enough I'll try and find a new one :)
     
  15. BillyBobBongo macrumors 68020

    BillyBobBongo

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2007
    Location:
    On The Interweb Thingy!
    #15
    I've never used them, but these guys have spare parts for Mac Pros - http://www.welovemacs.com/

    I believe they do international shipping too.
     
  16. maximage77, Aug 18, 2015
    Last edited: Aug 19, 2015

    maximage77 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2014
    #16
    And looking at that pic, it still has the clear plastic tape on the inside as if it were a service part that has been ordered later in life ... they didn't ship from factory when preinstalled in a computer with all that tape for memory, so looks like someone has replaced the cover at some point and ordered the wrong one when they did so.
     
  17. ActionableMango macrumors 604

    ActionableMango

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    #17
    Yes I think you are right--the tabs and rail are at a different height. So the tabs don't hold the panel in place, but they also don't prevent the panel from resting in place.
     

Share This Page