Log and Transfer/clip browse slowness in FCE4

Discussion in 'Digital Video' started by M.Ford, Nov 9, 2008.

1. M.Ford macrumors member

Hi all

I am a fledgling/home video editor (this will be my first edit). In FCE, I am using the Log and Transfer to import the clips but it seems really slow to browse the clips in order to choose the ones that I want to transfer. Is there something that I am missing or is this just the way that it is. The camera compression is AVCHD.

Camera:
    Model: Panasonic HDC-SD5

Application:
    Application: FCE 4.0.1

Mac:
    Apple: Mac Pro
    RAM: 6GB
    CPU: Standard Xeon,
    System Drive: 150GB Raptor
    Movie Drive: WD750 SATA 16MB cache
    Transfer type: USB 2.0 (firewire is not possible because the camera does not have it).
    notes: The Mac is SATA based. Though it has a firewire port, I have no drives that are firewire.

2. Courtaj macrumors 6502a

Courtaj

I'm yet to start using my SD9 with FCE4 (it's in the mail) but you might improve the experience a little by copying the contents of the SDHC card to a disk image on your (preferably firewire-driven) harddrive first, rather than browsing directly from the camera or a card reader (am I right to assume you're doing the latter?). While I realise the workflow is a bit different with FCE, the import process is noticeably less stodgy under iMovie when I use a disk image rather than the card itself.

Andrew.

3. NeoMayhem macrumors 6502a

I have seen it take up to a minute to load 50+ clips on my iMac. I dont know why it would take so long on a mac pro. How many clips do you have?

4. M.Ford thread starter macrumors member

I have 91 clips on the camera and I browse directly on the camera because I thought that you got a better import if you went from the camera directly than if you were to copy the files over first. Is this so?