Logic board swap

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by NoSole, Jan 15, 2014.

  1. NoSole macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2011
    #1
    I'm probably asking a stupid question, but want to be certain before I go through the effort only to find out there was something I missed.

    My current 5 has a few issues (bent frame, faulty camera, cracked screen) that have made it almost unbearable to use. It's running 6.1 and is jailbroken just the way I like it. I just bought a used 5 running 7.x and I thought that rather than losing my current setup, I could swap logic boards and put my sim in the new phone instead. If I do, 1) would that work to maintain functionality, and 2) would I still need to activate the new phone?

    I don't mean to be rude, but please don't preach to me about how hard/unnecessary/etc that would be. I have many other reasons that are strongly motivating me to consider doing this in the first place that I'm just not going to get into. I just want to know if its possible, and be aware of any pitfalls that may lie in wait.

    Thanks!
     
  2. Interstella5555 macrumors 603

    Interstella5555

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2008
  3. Givmeabrek macrumors 68030

    Givmeabrek

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2009
    Location:
    NY
    #3
    Sounds like it would work. It would already be activated. You are basically just replacing the shell of the phone will another one. No problem.
     
  4. T5BRICK macrumors 604

    T5BRICK

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Location:
    Oregon
    #4
    Logic board replacement has a "Moderate" difficutly according to iFixit. Just be careful and I'm sure you'll do fine.

    http://www.ifixit.com/Guide/iPhone+5+Logic+Board+Replacement/10700

    On a side note, why didn't you just take your phone into Apple for a screen replacement/out of warranty repair? I'm almost certain that would be cheaper than buying a used iPhone 5.
     
  5. NoSole thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2011
    #5
    I'm comfortable fixing my phone. I've done it several times before on previous iPhones and other iDevices. It's not very hard, just takes patience and care.

    As for the screen replacement, like I said, there's a lot more to this story. If a simple screen replacement was all it needed, I'd do it. With all the factors I'm considering, it's more cost effective to replace it with a used phone and sell the old one.

    Thanks for the input!

    ----------

    Why even comment if you're going to negatively state the obvious? How does it help anyone?
     
  6. blarivee macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2009
    Location:
    US
    #6
    1) Yes the functionality will be maintained.
    2) No you would not need to reactivate.

    Be careful when you remove the screws. Follow the directions on iFixtit exactly or you might rip a cable out by accident. Good luck.
     
  7. NoSole thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2011
    #7
    Nice! As I thought to be the case. Just wanted to be sure. Thanks
     
  8. CellTalent macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2014
    #8
    Yes your older PCB will work and run perfectly in the new shell. Just take it easy when lifting the connectors and not to tear up the actual connector pads.
     

Share This Page