Logic Pro X and CPUs...

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by Rob.G, Jul 26, 2016.

1. Rob.G macrumors 6502

Rob.G

I'm a Logic Pro X noob, but I'm learning quickly and hope to be able to start doing some great stuff with it in the not too distant future. Maybe in a year or two even start making some money with it.

That being said, I'm also due for a new Mac. My little 13" i5 2.6 and 16 gig isn't gonna hold up for long, I know. I read a long thread about CPU requirements for "heavy" use, and it definitely sounds like I'll need a 12-core Mac Pro in the long run. BUT... since it hasn't been updated since 2013, I'm hesitant to spend the money on one right now.

I was wondering... how far would I get on a maxed-out 15" MBP or 27" iMac? Would it last me a year or two until I have the reason (and money) to spend $$$$$ on a Mac Pro? And hopefully by then, an updated (and even faster) one will be out.

My main interest will be for recording bands, at least for now. I'd like that to evolve into much more, but that'll take time and experience (and connections). :)

Thoughts?

Rob

2. keysofanxiety macrumors 604

keysofanxiety

Very, very, very far. Certainly more than a few years. Any spec of quad-core i7 currently shipping in the iMacs/rMBPs will be more than apt. Just ensure you go full Flash as well. You can get some real resource-heavy AUs which will make loading projects a chore unless you ditch the spinning drive.

I had a 2011 2.7GHz i5 iMac with 32GB of RAM, and that almost immediately hit the CPU bottleneck with 30-odd plugins on LP9. Admittedly that had a spinning drive rather than an SSD, but the CPU was utterly bricked. It wasn't hyperthreaded though, so I'm not sure how much impact that had. Regardless, the same projects absolutely flew on my 2012 15" cMBP w/16GB RAM & SSD. I still use that machine to this day and it hasn't missed a beat with LPX.

Just to add, I can't overstate how incredible Logic Pro X is as a DAW. :D