Logic Pro X on 21.5-inch: 2.7GHz?

Discussion in 'Digital Audio' started by LucasG, Nov 26, 2013.

1. LucasG macrumors regular

LucasG

I'm interested in learning to use Logic Pro X and I was wondering if an entry 21.5" iMac would be sufficient to get started with mixing and producing. I guess a year later I can consider upgrading to something more serious once I learn and get the hang of it, I just want to make sure I have room for it to work properly and advance enough on it. I'll also be using it for web development (HTML/CSS/Photoshop/etc).

Suggestions are welcome!

2. bwhli macrumors 6502a

bwhli

Yes, the entry level iMac is more than sufficient if you're just getting started. Some of my friends even work on MacBook Airs.

3. WillFisher macrumors 6502

WillFisher

I'm currently in my third year of University, and I mix and record on my 13" MBA and a i5 Mac Mini using Logic Pro X, Pro 9, Ableton and Pro Tools.
    They both do a great job. The MBA is a little better at mixing though.

I would kill for a 2.7ghz iMac over my Mac Mini, it'll do a great job!

4. ChrisA macrumors G4

It will work fine. Not a lot of reason to upgrade later either. I like 27" better especially for photos and video as I can see more at the same time. Logic does not require a lot of processing power.

If you are using Logic and have some extra cash spend it on microphone, audio interface, room treatments, monitor speakers, headphones and a very robust and redundant backup system that includes off-site storage.

5. koban4max macrumors 68000

if you're doing music video..with audio stuff...than u might consider something better.

6. Phazer macrumors member

Logic's core engine is really poor, even with a more powerful hyperthreading cpu, you'd still run into cpu overloads.
    From what I've seen Logic only uses 2 cores, the remaining 6 are barely touched.
    Pro Tools 11 is just on another planet.