Become a MacRumors Supporter for $25/year with no ads, private forums, and more!

Logic Pro X - Removal of unused or erroneous MIDI Inputs

codernova

macrumors member
Original poster
May 13, 2019
93
32
I am at a loss on how to remove the unchecked/greyed out items from this Inputs list. I've removed every driver in HDD/Library/Audio/MIDI Drivers, reinstalled Logic Pro X, reset settings in Logic Pro to default, confirmed these ghost devices don't exist in MIDI Studio... My googling is coming up empty, anyone know what I can do to remove these?
1578960693419.png


And MIDI Studio for reference:
1578960906849.png
 

codernova

macrumors member
Original poster
May 13, 2019
93
32
Alright, I finally figured it out on my own with a bit of luck after much exploration. I'll share my fix people searching for a solution in the future. Note that this will blow away ALL your settings in Logic Pro X so beware.

I'm not sure which of these two files (or if both) are required, but I found and deleted:

/<Hard Drive>/Users/<User name>/Library/Preferences/com.apple.logic.pro.cs
/<Hard Drive>/Users/<User name>/Library/Preferences/com.apple.logic10.plist

Now I see what I expect, and note that these were probably caused by driver issues upgrading to Catalina, and eventually removing some Korg drivers and letting them rely on CoreMIDI instead:

1579153619841.png

[automerge]1579153780[/automerge]
 
Comment

Lucky667

macrumors newbie
Feb 26, 2020
8
4
London/SW-Germany
Hi,

4 weeks to late.. just registered, couldn’t answer earlier ;)

In the application list is a folder named “utilities” there is a app called “audio/midi setup”.
With that you should be able to organise your audio- and midi hardware.

Cheers,
Lucky


cheers, Lucky
 
Comment

BasilX

macrumors newbie
Mar 11, 2020
1
0
I just checked and removing files according to codernova (see above) does not work. Also MIDI Setup does not solve anything (see above Lucky667). So, getting rid of old MIDI gear remains a mystery.
 
Comment

Fox Vernon

macrumors newbie
Apr 16, 2020
2
1
I have had this same problem and I think I found the simple answer, though perhaps I'm wrong.

But I think all you need to do is select the "invalid entries" (that is the greyed out MIDI input entries), and press delete.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Vaultnaemsae
Comment

Vaultnaemsae

macrumors newbie
Dec 24, 2018
8
2
I have had this same problem and I think I found the simple answer, though perhaps I'm wrong.

But I think all you need to do is select the "invalid entries" (that is the greyed out MIDI input entries), and press delete.

So obvious yet I couldn't see it until you pointed it out! I was trying to right click on them to delete...Thanks!
 
Comment

Fox Vernon

macrumors newbie
Apr 16, 2020
2
1
So obvious yet I couldn't see it until you pointed it out! I was trying to right click on them to delete...Thanks!
Yup, I was banging my head against the wall for a couple of hours; rebooted my computer tons of times after unchecking the boxes to see if that changed anything. Found this thread, and had great hope, but it didn't do anything for me. Then I just happened to try to delete (at first thinking, "no way will this work"), but lo and behold it did!

I wasn't a member here, but decided I had to join and post this solution for people.

Not that it solves all problems. My EZkeys and EZdrummer keeps adding MIDI inputs everytime I open projects with those plugins, but now I know how to get rid of the unused instances (and there were 100's of them before).
 
Comment
Register on MacRumors! This sidebar will go away, and you'll see fewer ads.