Logic Pro + ?

Discussion in 'Digital Audio' started by existe, May 11, 2009.

  1. existe macrumors member

    existe

    Joined:
    May 11, 2009
    #1
    I am a recent convert from PC to Mac and I have switched from FL Studio (or trying to) to Logic Pro 8. Now I own both older version of Reason and Alb Live...to get the most out of Logic would you suggest Ableton Live 8 or Reason 4 with Logic as the main DAW?

    I mainly do electronic music (prog trance, IDM, Ambient) and some post rock recording but it all myself for the most part. I was using FL Studio and Cubase 4 LE before. I own some NI synths as well.

    I am thinking Ableton Live 8 is the better route but will it compliment my Logic or overlap more?

    Thanks
     
  2. ChrisA macrumors G4

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2006
    Location:
    Redondo Beach, California
    #2
    What is Logic not doing for you, why do you need something else in addition to it?

    I think the way you answer the above will tell you which to use.
     
  3. existe thread starter macrumors member

    existe

    Joined:
    May 11, 2009
    #3
    As of right now nothing...Logic is fine for what I am doing but I am only scratching the surface. I am trying to make sure that my palette is as deep as it was with FL Studio when I was on PC, as dumb as that might sound.

    I have read tons of people say Logic + live is perfect combo, I am trying to figure out why. Just trying to see if either Live 8 or Reason add something new to Logic (that I am not aware) of. I am doing a terrible job of explaining it....
     
  4. Cycom macrumors 6502

    Cycom

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2007
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    #4
    Let me offer you a piece of advice: Forget about which DAW you think you might need and just sit down and start making music. It's easy to start getting carried away and becoming neurotic about what equipment and applications you "need."

    YOU HAVE EVERYTHING YOU NEED RIGHT NOW.
     
  5. joe.cavers macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2008
    #5
    I'm gonna have to agree with the above here, Logic Pro is incredible in its own right, just start making music! I went from using pre-version 8 Pro Tools to Logic and the number of instruments included with Logic 8 (in comparison) is insane! Definitely enough there to make music.

    Start using the program and if you genuinely need either Reason or Ableton, it will become apparent as you work. You'll say "I wish I could do this with Logic" and at that point you'll be able to turn to Reason/Ableton for what you need.

    JC
     
  6. coday182 macrumors regular

    coday182

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2006
    Location:
    Jamestown, IN
    #6
    If I were you I would seriously think about forgetting Logic for now, and getting a 2 week trial of the new Ableton release of version 8. Especially if you're making electronic music. I don't have to explain to you how the program works, since you haev an older version, but think about it. If you know what you're doing Ableton can do everything reason can plus more. Because reason can't host audio tracks. With version 8 I don't do this anymore, but if you were stuck on Logic you could easily compose in Ableton and then rewire into Logic so you get to use all of Logic's tools, but will have a lot easier time (which equals more time for creativity) composing in ableton.
     

Share This Page