Logic Studio and iMac

Discussion in 'iMac' started by Macchino, Jan 13, 2008.

  1. Macchino macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2008
    Location:
    Copenhagen
    #1
    Hi everybody.

    So i've finally been convinced, I'm going Mac next week. Of course I'll wait until after the keynote. Especially since my local Apple dealer very strongly recommended that I should wait, when I went to by the 24", 2,4Ghz iMac last tuesday (I wonder why He did that???).

    Back to my question.
    I'm wondering, if any of you guys know how Logic Studio runs on the iMac
    aluminum 24", 2,4 Ghz. My budget dosn't really allows me to go further than that, since I also have to purchase Logic Studio (switching from Nuendo 3)

    Is it way of to by the 2,4Ghz iMac and max it out with ram?
    Would I be much better of buying the downgraded (to single q-core) new Mac Pro and a cheap display, eventhough this would cost around 1500$ extra (incl. display), and that it would mean, that I've have to wait for a couple of months more, to save up for it?

    I'm looking forward to join the "family"

    Best regards

    Macchino
     
  2. gazfocus macrumors 68000

    gazfocus

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2008
    Location:
    Liverpool, UK
    #2
    Hi and in advance, welcome to the fold.

    I have actually been in a similar situation to you. I've been saving up for a Macbook Pro (but my insurance company replaced my G4 powerbook with a Macbook Pro for free), so I've been looking at using the money to replace my Windows desktop PC with a Mac desktop.

    I was looking at the prices in the UK (that's where I'm from), and the Mac Pro (downgraded to a single 4 core 2.8GHz) is actually about £30 ($60) cheaper than the 24" 2.8GHz iMac.

    The main issue I have with the iMac is that all the parts are notebook parts (it's effectively a Macbook Pro in a desktop form with a bigger screen), and as such, the maximum amount of RAM is 4GB (as the RAM is notebook memory), whereas the maximum amount of RAM that a Mac Pro is 32GB and it used desktop RAM which is far cheaper from third parties.

    If you can afford the Mac Pro, you can get a 19" monitor for around $200 which would last you in the meantime while you're saving up for something bigger.
     
  3. mcnicks macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2006
    #3
    The one thing to watch is the noise from the fans. Its possible that the iMac fans are much better than they once were, but I found it very difficult to record music in the same room back then. Nowadays I have a much more advanced setup: a Powermac in the hall cupboard, a monitor in my bedroom and a small hole in the wall where I have fed the cables through :)
     
  4. gazfocus macrumors 68000

    gazfocus

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2008
    Location:
    Liverpool, UK
    #4
    I use an aluminium iMac at work for video editing in Final Cut Pro and the fans are pretty quiet (as far as to say, I don't notice any noise).

    I have ordered Logic Studio (being delivered tomorrow...YAY) to go with my Macbook Pro which is about the same spec as the iMacs. I'll let you know how I get on if you like?
     
  5. Macchino thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2008
    Location:
    Copenhagen
    #5
    Hi again, and thankyou for the replies.

    The thing is that the Humac (Apple) dealer here in Copenhagen have a 450$ discount when you by the 24" 2,4 Ghz iMac AND Logic studio together. Furthermore, the 2,8 Ghz costs about 750 more than the 2,4 Ghz. Thats why the price gap gets so big.

    Mcnicks: -> Sounds like a nice setup you have.;). Regarding the fans... Good point, i will look into that - maybe someone here knows if they are loud?

    Gazfocus: -> That was a very kind ensurance company:)
     
  6. Macchino thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2008
    Location:
    Copenhagen
    #6
    Thanks gazfocus... That's very kind of you.

    I cant wait to get started with Logic either.

    Imagine not having to bounce all your tracks on a project, every single time you have to bring it to another studio, because they all use Logic and pro-tools... Ahhhh... then life will be soooo much easier:)
     
  7. gazfocus macrumors 68000

    gazfocus

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2008
    Location:
    Liverpool, UK
    #7
    No probelm Macchino :)

    I don't do a lot of recording but with my student discount I got Logic Studio for £118 for the Higher Education store here in the UK, so can't wait for it to come and give it a go :)
     
  8. Macchino thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2008
    Location:
    Copenhagen
    #8
    Damn thats cheap!!! That must to be an upgrade or???

    Why don't we have student discount in Denmark:( (Yeah 2% but thats not really a discount. Is it...)
     
  9. gazfocus macrumors 68000

    gazfocus

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2008
    Location:
    Liverpool, UK
    #9
    Yeah it is cheap, and no it's the full version (The upgrade is actually more expensive...It's something like £148).

    2% isn't very good at all. For Apple computers (MBP's, Macbooks, Mac Mini's, Mac Pro's, and iMacs), we get 14% off here :)
     
  10. sk123456 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2010
    #10
    logic pro

    high I have been looking everywhere for logic pro at this discount price and have only found one place called andertons in the uk however they only give this discount if you are part of the academy of contemporary arts not any other university. I was just wondering how you got logic so cheap? any help will be much appreciated.

    thank you
     

Share This Page