Logic Studio Pro or Express?

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by k2spitfire88, May 28, 2009.

1. k2spitfire88 macrumors 6502

I am a musician who has recently begun doing recording on my own and with my band. Which of the two is the better option for starting off? Probably Express, but what would I lose if I choose Express over Pro? I would like to weigh my options before I make the decision. Thanks.

2. Badradio macrumors 6502

The main difference between Express and Pro is the library of loops and instruments you get. If most of your recording is audio - such as guitars and mic'd instruments, a lot of the value of Pro is lost on you. Aside from that, there's a mastering application and an app for formatting surround sound and a couple of other things. The core application: Logic Express vs Logic Pro is practically identical.

Don't forget you can upgrade to Pro from Express for the same price difference as buying the full versions, so you lose nothing buying Express then upgrading later, other than having the inconvenience of two boxes.

3. McScooby macrumors 6502

It's a no brainer..

In Uk higher ed store , logic pro is marginally more expensive that express, if you don't need the loops don't install them, however if you do, you got them otherwise you pay full price to get them again, always best having more than less!

4. Ben Kei macrumors regular

Logic Express does also limit the number of insert/send effects you can have on a single channel.

I think the limit is 4 but don't hold me to that!

Also you lose out on a few of the instruments and effects, although if you're using it for live recording most of these won't be a huge loss (except the Space designer reverb and Delay designer which are both delicious)

but as has been stated already, you can update to pro later on if express doesn't do everything you need it to.

5. bobbleheadbob macrumors 6502a

bobbleheadbob