login keychain for account (with blank password) is not blank?

Discussion in 'macOS' started by iW00t, Aug 4, 2007.

  1. iW00t macrumors 68040

    iW00t

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2006
    Location:
    Defenders of Apple Guild
    #1
    Hey guys,

    Was trying to fix up a friend's MacBook which had a funny file corruption error that could not be fixed by disk utility, fsck seems to abort during the process of rebuilding the tree all the time and leave the file system in that bad state.

    Thankfully we could still accept the /User folders when the computer is connected in TDM and managed to copy out everything in it before we wiped and reinstalled the disk.

    Now the thing is when OS X is reinstalled, we could not use the user profile migration wizard, but no worries, we made an account that is just like the old one and copied everything over.

    Everything sort of works, except the login.keychain is busted, it prompts us for a password when we never had a password for that account.

    What else is there to try? Are we supposed to know some mystery password that was tied to the old installation of OS X?
     
  2. mad jew Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #2
    I think that's normal when you manually transfer accounts. The same thing happens if you change an account's short name (properly). Does it accept any sort of password though? Does it go away if you give it a blank password?

    On another note, if Disk utility wasn't able to repair the drive earlier then I'm guessing you reformatted before reinstalling. It's unrelated to your Keychain problem, but have you verified the drive again? I'm not so sure I'd be relying on this drive for holding anything important.
     
  3. iW00t thread starter macrumors 68040

    iW00t

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2006
    Location:
    Defenders of Apple Guild
    #3
    It doesn't accept the blank password. We tried it on an account with the same short name on another Mac and it does not work too...
     
  4. mad jew Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #4
    That's weird. Have you tried resetting the password from the OSX discs?
     
  5. iW00t thread starter macrumors 68040

    iW00t

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2006
    Location:
    Defenders of Apple Guild
    #5
    The old installation was already nuked, so I don't see what good there is to do it from the OSX discs...

    We manually copied the home folder over though.
     
  6. mad jew Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #6
    Mate, I'm pretty sure you just answered your own question. :)
     
  7. iW00t thread starter macrumors 68040

    iW00t

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2006
    Location:
    Defenders of Apple Guild
    #7
    Hmmm... what is wrong with copying the folder manually?
     
  8. janey macrumors 603

    janey

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2002
    Location:
    sunny los angeles
    #8
    I think mad jew is trying to say that you've copied the old Keychain to the new account as a side effect of having copied the entire home folder. Try the old password.
     
  9. iW00t thread starter macrumors 68040

    iW00t

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2006
    Location:
    Defenders of Apple Guild
    #9
    Oh, the old account and the new account has no password (blank password), so that is why it is so puzzling.
     
  10. janey macrumors 603

    janey

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2002
    Location:
    sunny los angeles
    #10
    Have you tried unlocking it with the keychain utility?

    (nevermind all the other questions about why there's no password :eek: )
     
  11. iW00t thread starter macrumors 68040

    iW00t

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2006
    Location:
    Defenders of Apple Guild
    #11
    Yeap, but it asks us for a password (which we never had)...
     

Share This Page