Login settings - how to set it up?

Discussion in 'OS X Yosemite (10.10)' started by jdaniel, May 12, 2015.

  1. jdaniel macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2009
    Location:
    Ottawa, Canada
    #1
    Hi guys,
    I am trying to set login so that it doesn't display the username and you have to enter it manually, how do I do that? None of the options available now work..
     
  2. Morpheo macrumors 65816

    Morpheo

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2014
    Location:
    Paris/Montreal
    #2
    You mean you want to enter the name and password manually?

    Users & Groups>Login options>"Display login window as: Name and password"
     
  3. jdaniel thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2009
    Location:
    Ottawa, Canada
    #3
    yes I tried that, it does not work.
     
  4. Taz Mangus macrumors 68040

    Taz Mangus

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2011
    #4
    Do you have fast user switching turned on?
     
  5. jdaniel thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2009
    Location:
    Ottawa, Canada
    #5
    no i do not.
     
  6. Taz Mangus macrumors 68040

    Taz Mangus

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2011
    #6
    I am trying to understand the issue more. I just tried what Morpheo suggested, System Preferences->Users & Groups->Login Options, "Display login window as:" Name and Password. I then went to "Login Window..." and what I was presented with was 2 inputs, one for the user name and one for the password. I had to manually enter the user name and password. Can you take a screen shot of what the issue you are having and post it.

    EDIT: Unless you are referring to the case where the computer sleeps when a user is logged in. In that case when you wake the computer you will see the last user logged in and the only manual input os for the password.
     
  7. jdaniel thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2009
    Location:
    Ottawa, Canada
    #7
    No I mean when I login I dont wanna see anything display I wanna see 2 blanks.. one for me to enter username and one for me to enter password.. there should be nothing displayed.
     
  8. jdaniel thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2009
    Location:
    Ottawa, Canada
  9. !!! macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2013
    #9
    The first response you got should have solved the problem.
     
  10. DeltaMac macrumors 604

    DeltaMac

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2003
    Location:
    Delaware
    #10
    Do you have FileVault turned on?
    A login with Filevault on will show the list of users that can unlock the startup disk. Not the same security process as account login, but always shows a list of those users. It's part of FileVault.

    If you don't want to see a list of users, then disable (turn off) FileVault. Then, you will be able to use the option to show only blanks for Username/Password.
     
  11. jdaniel thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2009
    Location:
    Ottawa, Canada
    #11
    OMG Obviously It did not.......Ive stated that quite clearly.
     
  12. jdaniel thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2009
    Location:
    Ottawa, Canada
    #12
    That could be it, I might try and see if that is the problem. Thanks
     
  13. !!! macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2013
    #13
    Then what was the problem? Does it show it is enabled? Or will it even let you turn it on?
     

Share This Page