Logitech G15 Keyboard

barr08

macrumors 65816
Original poster
Aug 9, 2006
1,361
0
Boston, MA
I'm sure this has been asked quite often here, but a search came up with only a few limited results.

I have a few questions about the logitech G15 keyboard. I want to buy one for use on xp while gaming, but would like to use it as my primary keyboard overall.

A) How would the apple key work in OSX? Would I just use the alt key for apple commands?

B) I heard there were some issues using the control key at startup to choose the XP of OSX partition. Is there a fix to this?

C) Can you map the brightness/volume controls to the F keys?

This information should all be the same on any logitech keyboard, so if anyone has any info, that would be great!
 

bousozoku

Moderator emeritus
Jun 25, 2002
13,979
3
Gone but not forgotten.

Nermal

Moderator
Staff member
Dec 7, 2002
18,721
1,202
New Zealand
barr08 said:
A) How would the apple key work in OSX? Would I just use the alt key for apple commands?
A friend has a "ZBoard" Windows USB keyboard plugged into his G3, and it uses Control for Control, Alt for Option, and Windows for Command. I expect that all Windows keyboards will work the same way.
 

Lollypop

macrumors 6502a
Sep 13, 2004
829
0
Johannesburg, South Africa
bousozoku said:
That's great. Of course, none of the advanced stuff works, does it?
I wouldnt think that any of the advance stuff works, System profiler might pick up a few intereting things on the USB port, but thats it. To bad... I had a windows keyboard with all the multimedia buttons, back then Xp was just released and it was just a gimmic, now that I actually use itunes all of the time and would love a media keyboard like that... it all of a sudden becomes a bit harder to get a decent one for the mac. :(
 

bousozoku

Moderator emeritus
Jun 25, 2002
13,979
3
Gone but not forgotten.
Lollypop said:
I wouldnt think that any of the advance stuff works, System profiler might pick up a few intereting things on the USB port, but thats it. To bad... I had a windows keyboard with all the multimedia buttons, back then Xp was just released and it was just a gimmic, now that I actually use itunes all of the time and would love a media keyboard like that... it all of a sudden becomes a bit harder to get a decent one for the mac. :(
I have a Logitech keyboard--Internet Access might be the U.S. name. All of the functions work and it's very configurable but it has the Apple markings on it, too. I don't want any other brand. I'd love to have the G5 or the DiNovo but there are too many things that won't do anything but waste money.
 

Lollypop

macrumors 6502a
Sep 13, 2004
829
0
Johannesburg, South Africa
bousozoku said:
I have a Logitech keyboard--Internet Access might be the U.S. name. All of the functions work and it's very configurable but it has the Apple markings on it, too. I don't want any other brand. I'd love to have the G5 or the DiNovo but there are too many things that won't do anything but waste money.
Im also a huge Logitech fan, they simply make very good equipment, Ive always used their high end stuff when I was a windows user, unfortunately their high end doesnt always work with all the bells and wistles for the mac, and I also dont want to risk using a different brand. :eek:
 

bousozoku

Moderator emeritus
Jun 25, 2002
13,979
3
Gone but not forgotten.
Lollypop said:
Im also a huge Logitech fan, they simply make very good equipment, Ive always used their high end stuff when I was a windows user, unfortunately their high end doesnt always work with all the bells and wistles for the mac, and I also dont want to risk using a different brand. :eek:
I think most of the products on the market just stink and I'm sad that Logitech has distanced itself from the Mac market. Part of the problem is that Mac users will use Apple products and the other part is that Logitech is sticking with the 2.4 GHz transceivers.
 

Lollypop

macrumors 6502a
Sep 13, 2004
829
0
Johannesburg, South Africa
bousozoku said:
I think most of the products on the market just stink and I'm sad that Logitech has distanced itself from the Mac market. Part of the problem is that Mac users will use Apple products and the other part is that Logitech is sticking with the 2.4 GHz transceivers.

Its a sad point your making! Most people are fine with the default stuff that ships with their iMac, and the rest of us want something Logitech doesnt offer us. :mad:
 

crazycat

macrumors 65816
Dec 5, 2005
1,319
0
Funny you guys should compare these 2 keyboards, because i am typing on a Logitech G15 for my PC and i use on my mac the S530. If your gona play ay kind of game then the G15 is much better, but for nomal day use the S530 is better because it looks good but i got to say its a bid slow.
 

barr08

macrumors 65816
Original poster
Aug 9, 2006
1,361
0
Boston, MA
I know this is an ancient thread, but I just wanted to say that the G15 is great on the mac. The LCD doesn't really work in OSX, but it is nice in bootcamp. The other features work fine. The keyboard is very responsive, the lightting is nice, and the macros work in mac Wow.

Also, I wanted to bring this back up because best buy is now selling it on sale for $70, but I'm nto sure how long it will last. If you are a gamer, I highly reccomend this keyboard.
 

jeffcr

macrumors newbie
Dec 29, 2006
1
0
G15 _ G keys?

Barr you said you have been using on the Mac side. I just got this for the extra G keys but they don't seem to work on my Mac. (G5 Dual 2.0) I wanted to use the G keys for WoW but they are just recognized as the F keys.Have you found a way to program the G keys for Mac use?

Thanks,

Jeff
 

mangz

macrumors newbie
Feb 2, 2007
4
0
I know this is an ancient thread, but I just wanted to say that the G15 is great on the mac. The LCD doesn't really work in OSX, but it is nice in bootcamp. The other features work fine. The keyboard is very responsive, the lightting is nice, and the macros work in mac Wow.

Also, I wanted to bring this back up because best buy is now selling it on sale for $70, but I'm nto sure how long it will last. If you are a gamer, I highly reccomend this keyboard.
Hey barr08 on my mac, the G15's windows keys doesn't work properly! Are you seeing that too or is it just a strange bug?
Very annoying cause it means no option key.
I'll reboot and see what happens. :)


jeffcr:

afaik, there is no way to make the G keys work. LCD also only says "logitech".
volume and mute buttons amazingly works!
 

micsaund

macrumors 6502
May 31, 2004
364
0
Colorado, USA
I used a G15 on my MB and the Winbloze key works as the Apple key without any issue other than it's in a position where you hit it with a different finger than on a real Mac keyboard.

I've not tried to get any of the extra functions going, like the G keys. However, the F keys (ie. for Expose) work fine. The keyboard has a backlight button so you can control that regardless of the computer. However, for the MB speaker volume/backlight, I'm not sure how to do that.

As surmised above, the LCD is worthless under OS X at this time and just displays the Logitech logo.

I think I tried the Play/Pause music key and that didn't do anything, which was unexpected since on Winbloze, those keys generally work on any keyboard without drivers, so it must be a standard keycode which OS X could use similarly if they wanted.

I'll be using the G15 with the MB tomorrow (Saturday) as I only plug into the desktop setup on the weekends, so I can test some stuff if anybody wants during that time.

Mike
 

mangz

macrumors newbie
Feb 2, 2007
4
0
Hahahah! I accidentaly switched the "computer / joystick" switch to joystick without noticing, and suddenly the windows key (option key) and a lot of other things dissappeared!
Other than that, Logitech G15 works brilliantly as a keyboard, but LCD and G keys are dead.
 

SMM

macrumors 65816
Sep 22, 2006
1,334
0
Tiger Mountain - WA State
I must be the luckiest guy in the Mac community. I bought the 530 on speculation. I thought it was going to really suck. However, I liked the slim profile, the hand rest area and overall layout. I also liked the tactile feel, even though I will freely concede this is a very personal preference. I thought, if it sucks, it is a small investment and I can always donate it. To my surprise, it works great! I have never typed so fast, or comfortably. Maybe I am too slow a typist to realize slow response. An added bonus was the mouse. This thing was destined for the closet, but it too fits me perfectly.

I like this keyboard/mouse so much, I bought two more to put in storage. You never know when an item you like is going to be discontinued.

PS: I have been using the factory batteries for 2-3 months.
 

micsaund

macrumors 6502
May 31, 2004
364
0
Colorado, USA
One thing I just noticed is that the G15 volume ring/control and Mute button works with OS X by default, however the other media-related keys don't do anything (play, FF, REW).

Having the volume/mute is far handier than the other media keys IMO, so I'm glad that works :D
 

bousozoku

Moderator emeritus
Jun 25, 2002
13,979
3
Gone but not forgotten.
Its a sad point your making! Most people are fine with the default stuff that ships with their iMac, and the rest of us want something Logitech doesnt offer us. :mad:
It's sad because I really like what Logitech do with keyboards and trackballs. I've been buying their trackballs since 1991 when I got my first Trackman Portable. Kensington make a few Mac-related products but otherwise, we're stuck with MacAlly, which only makes junk.

One thing I just noticed is that the G15 volume ring/control and Mute button works with OS X by default, however the other media-related keys don't do anything (play, FF, REW).

Having the volume/mute is far handier than the other media keys IMO, so I'm glad that works :D
Did you try the media controls when iTunes was running? Mine work just fine with it.
 

Knil

macrumors newbie
Mar 2, 2007
1
0
That right? The macro keys work with OSX World of Warcraft? That's what I'm most interested in... the display I can do without.

It looks like I'll be getting this beaut' then. Where can I get the drivers?
 

trainguy77

macrumors 68040
Nov 13, 2003
3,567
1
Does the G15 work with hardware monitor? I think it should. Maybe someone could give it a shot with the trial.
 

Sesshi

macrumors G3
Jun 3, 2006
8,113
1
One Nation Under Gordon
Lacking the drivers and with Mac gaming hardware the way it is, the G15 is like putting an F1 steering wheel on a Focus. As Crazycat said, you're much better off with the S530 or a regular good PC keyboard.
 

DigitalN.

macrumors member
Jan 3, 2007
74
0
Lacking the drivers and with Mac gaming hardware the way it is, the G15 is like putting an F1 steering wheel on a Focus. As Crazycat said, you're much better off with the S530 or a regular good PC keyboard.
well unfortunately the G15 is the only decent keyboard with backlighting, as the Saiteks backlight is uneven.