Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Keith Mueller

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Oct 6, 2020
1
0
I am running a Logitech Keyboard/Mouse over bluetooth on my MacBook. I have the fancy buttons on the mouse customized to make me very productive while I am working. Unfortunately a few times a week the Logitech Option software will stop functioning. As a result the mouse custom buttons revert to default and the mouse scroll speeds slows down a bit.

To remediate this I have to reboot my entire MacBook which can be difficult to find time for during a work day. I have been looking for a way to reset Logitech Options software so that this can be resolved without a system restart. I attempted opening the Activity Monitor and ending the Logi Options Deamon which automatically restarts and then quitting and reopening the Logitech Options Software. But that has been unsuccessful.

Does anybody know how to forcefully and fully shutdown the Logitech Options software/deamon so that I can bring it back up from scratch? I expect that would get my mouse working normally again without having to bother with a full system restart. Thanks for the help, I am relatively new to macOS.

System: macOS Catalina 10.15.7
Logitech Options: 8.30.293 (latest)
Mouse: M720 Triathlon
Keyboard: K850
 

weaztek

macrumors 6502
Aug 28, 2009
394
199
Madison
After a few days of use, my Logitech mouse macros also stop working. After a restart I get them back.

However, the software I use is G Hub and Logitech Control Center. Both on Catalina.
 

benmeroff

macrumors newbie
Mar 30, 2011
2
1
Just now seeing this post, I've been having the same issue and the only workaround I've found to work most of the time is to open Activity Monitor and force quit the Logi Options Daemon process a couple times until I see it fully disappear before coming right back... after doing that I wait a minute or two for it to completely reinitialize before then regaining Logi Options functionality again.
 
  • Like
Reactions: leighno

Fishrrman

macrumors Penryn
Feb 20, 2009
27,282
11,642
I've used Logitech mice for years, but I don't use the Logitech control software for them.

Instead, I use either "Steermouse" or "USB Overdrive".

You might consider giving one or both a try...
 
  • Like
Reactions: satcomer and ght56

ght56

macrumors 6502a
Aug 31, 2020
839
815
I've used Logitech mice for years, but I don't use the Logitech control software for them.

Instead, I use either "Steermouse" or "USB Overdrive".

You might consider giving one or both a try...

I second this!

I am long time user of Logitech mice and their software has always ranged from okay to outright crap...it has never been great (or even good) software and its level of customizability was somewhat limited when I last used it.

SteerMouse is IMO the application that Logitech should have developed for Macs. It is absolutely awesome--reliable, extremely customizable, and rapidly updated for compatibility with new operating systems. It does Logitech's mice the justice that their own software does not! (I've not used USB Overdrive but I've read great things.)
 
  • Like
Reactions: Eduardot

leighno

macrumors newbie
Jun 29, 2021
1
0
Just now seeing this post, I've been having the same issue and the only workaround I've found to work most of the time is to open Activity Monitor and force quit the Logi Options Daemon process a couple times until I see it fully disappear before coming right back... after doing that I wait a minute or two for it to completely reinitialize before then regaining Logi Options functionality again.
This is also what works for me to fix it. For some reason I need to have to force quit the Logi Options Daemon 4 or 5 times, but eventually it works and functionality is restored.
 

prpatel78

macrumors newbie
Jun 29, 2021
1
4
I managed to fix mine, my issue was that Logi Options would open, be blank or have a spinning blue circle and then crash and close after a min or two.... here is what I did to fix.

Go to
Finder>Applications
Right Click on Logi Options>Show Package Contents>Contents>Support
Double click the Logi Options Daemon.
System Preferences will open.
Make sure that in the Input Monitoring section, that both Logi Options and Logi Options Daemon are present and are checked.

Now it works flawlessly.
 

leviath4n

macrumors newbie
Jul 28, 2021
4
0
Go to
Finder>Applications
Right Click on Logi Options>Show Package Contents>Contents>Support
Double click the Logi Options Daemon.
System Preferences will open.
Make sure that in the Input Monitoring section, that both Logi Options and Logi Options Daemon are present and are checked.
Signed-up to this forum just to say thank you for this post.

As it has fixed my issue.
 

thanksmyman

macrumors newbie
Oct 9, 2021
1
0
I managed to fix mine, my issue was that Logi Options would open, be blank or have a spinning blue circle and then crash and close after a min or two.... here is what I did to fix.

Go to
Finder>Applications
Right Click on Logi Options>Show Package Contents>Contents>Support
Double click the Logi Options Daemon.
System Preferences will open.
Make sure that in the Input Monitoring section, that both Logi Options and Logi Options Daemon are present and are checked.

Now it works flawlessly.
Thanks! I also Signed-up to this forum just to say thank you for this post as the guy above me.
the only fix that is out there, logi should post this fix on their website.
thank you again!
 

jplonghi

macrumors newbie
Nov 17, 2021
1
0
Alajuela, Costa Rica
I managed to fix mine, my issue was that Logi Options would open, be blank or have a spinning blue circle and then crash and close after a min or two.... here is what I did to fix.

Go to
Finder>Applications
Right Click on Logi Options>Show Package Contents>Contents>Support
Double click the Logi Options Daemon.
System Preferences will open.
Make sure that in the Input Monitoring section, that both Logi Options and Logi Options Daemon are present and are checked.

Now it works flawlessly.
me too, I also signed up to this forum just to thank you!.
 

Wolf Gang Fresh

macrumors newbie
Oct 21, 2012
13
0
Sydney, Australia
I wrote a shell script to kill the logimgr daemon and restart it to fix this issue.

# Restart my buggy mouse app
restartmouse() (
PID=$(ps -eaf | grep LogiMgrDaemon | grep -v grep | awk '{print $2}')
if [[ "" != "$PID" ]]; then
echo "killing LogiMgrDaemon with PID $PID"
kill -9 "$PID"
fi
)
 
Register on MacRumors! This sidebar will go away, and you'll see fewer ads.