Logitech Performance MX - lights keep coming on

Discussion in 'Mac Accessories' started by zen, Nov 28, 2009.

  1. zen macrumors 68000

    zen

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2003
    #1
    I've just got a Logitech Performance MX mouse which is working perfectly under Snow Leopard, but I've noticed that the green battery LEDs keep lighting up every few seconds. According to the Logitech site, they only come on to indicate battery life when you turn the mouse on, then they go off. I've turned the mouse on and haven't turned it off yet, but the lights flash on and off.

    The wireless connection is fine and hasn't dropped, I have the latest Logitech Control Center downloaded from Logitech, and the battery charge is good (although I haven't charged it yet, it came fully charged out of the box).

    Anyone had a similar experience?
     
  2. rgarjr macrumors 603

    rgarjr

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2009
    Location:
    Southern Cal
    #2
    I have a PMX and the LEDs only light up when you wake it up from sleep.
     
  3. zen thread starter macrumors 68000

    zen

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2003
    #3
    Okay, so is my PMX continuously going to sleep and waking up all day long? Is there any way to control that? I can't see anything in the Logitech Control Center.
     
  4. zen thread starter macrumors 68000

    zen

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2003
    #4
    After about 48 hours of use, the performance of my new Performance MX seems to be going downhill. It now sticks a lot, becoming totally unresponsive for seconds at a time until it wakes up. I thought it was because it was idle, but I was in the middle of World of Warcraft and suddenly it froze on me in the middle of a fight, during which I was constantly left and right-clicking and moving the mouse.

    It also seems to stop the computer from going to sleep or for the screensaver to go on (and in World of Warcraft I never went AFK if I left the game running).

    The lights are still going on and off regularly.

    I've tried USB Overdrive and Steermouse instead of the Logitech Control Center, but it hasn't made any difference.

    I am presuming this is yet another Snow Leopard issue. Perhaps I should finally downgrade to Leopard, so the mouse will work properly?
     
  5. rgarjr macrumors 603

    rgarjr

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2009
    Location:
    Southern Cal
    #5
    sounds like a faulty mouse maybe. I run a PMX on Snow Leo and on Windows 7 and works great. I suggest you contact Logitech customer service.
     
  6. Akira1980 macrumors 6502

    Akira1980

    Joined:
    May 27, 2007
    Location:
    San Diego
    #6
    If you have lots of 2.4Ghz device (phone, microwave, 802.11b/g, etc) your mouse won't work well. Try to find a place where there is less interference.
     
  7. zen thread starter macrumors 68000

    zen

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2003
    #7
    I've decided to take it back tomorrow - I rang Logitech and they said it was faulty (not that the support guy knew that much about it).

    It seems the only viable replacement is a Razer Mamba, which is another £20. However, I've read mixed reports out it, including on this forum.

    Perhaps I should try and find a Logitech Revolution MX, as they seem to be very reliable and well-reviewed?

    Anybody got any recommendations?
     
  8. rgarjr macrumors 603

    rgarjr

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2009
    Location:
    Southern Cal
    #8
    Get another PMX, things work great when you get a good one.
     
  9. zen thread starter macrumors 68000

    zen

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2003
    #9
    So you run yours under Snow Leopard? You don't have any intermittant connection loses, unresponsiveness, etc? That's my main problem now. Every few minutes it'll freeze up for a few seconds.
     
  10. rgarjr macrumors 603

    rgarjr

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2009
    Location:
    Southern Cal
    #10
    Yup, it runs on SL and on Windows 7 without any disconnect problems at all.
     
  11. partyBoy macrumors 68000

    partyBoy

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Location:
    Dilligaf
    #11
    try to disconnect the battery from inside the mouse and put it back in or try fully charging it and see what happens, i have the same mouse and it is the best
     
  12. zen thread starter macrumors 68000

    zen

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2003
    #12
    Battery is fully charged. I've just taken the battery out and put it back in, no difference.

    I did notice when I was charging it via the USB cable that you still need to have the receiver plugged in. I had unplugged it to swap in the cable, but while the mouse charged, it was totally unresponsive. I had to free up another USB port to put the receiver back in. I had assumed it would work via USB (which is surely the point, isn't it?).
     
  13. Bentov macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2007
    #13
    I'm having similar issue with my logitech now, I'm currently in the process of downgrading as I type this. The mouse issues just made my mac pro almost unusable. It is a sad state of affairs when my 10.5.4 msi wind is more usable than my 10.6.2 '09 mac pro :(
     

Share This Page