Logitech Performance MX Problem?

Discussion in 'iMac' started by alksion, Feb 29, 2012.

  1. alksion macrumors 68000

    alksion

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2010
    Location:
    Los Angeles County
    #1
    I know I could place this in the peripherals section, but it is iMac specifically related.

    I purchased this mouse on Amazon and when I received it, I absolutely loved it. It felt great for video editing and kept me fingers comfy for hours on end. With that said, I ran in to some serious problems.

    That mouse always seems to stutter randomly. To be specific, the cursor skips annoyingly from on place to another when moving on screen. For example, if I were to try and draw a straight line in PS, one would see small stutters when attempting to make a straight line. You could only imagine how annoying this would be when trying to edit in a timeline.

    I got in contact with Logitech and they tried to help me every way imaginable. Finally, they sent me out a new one (sent my old one back) and it seemed to work for a whole day until my disastrous problem occurred once again.

    I am running OSX Lion 10.7.3 and also have the newest logitech software installed in system preferences. Running through all the tech support steps does nothing and I have had absolutely no success.

    Could anyone else chime in on a similar issue or know of a possible solution?
    I love the mouse but hate the problem! Luckily I have a magic trackpad/mouse to hold me over, but prefer my Logitech for heavy use.

    Any input is greatly appreciated and as always, thank you!

    Edit: Use this as reference, but be aware the problem has not been fixed as the article states.
    http://d43.me/blog/476/mouse-cursor-skipping-jumping-bug-in-mac-os-x/
     
  2. fhall1 macrumors 68040

    fhall1

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2007
    Location:
    (Central) NY State of mind
    #2
    I have one I've been using on my 24" early 2009 iMac for over a year with no issues. I upgraded to 10.7.3 last weekend and still no issues seen. Did/Do you have any other mouse or input device programs installed? Like Steermouse or better touch? If so, make sure any vestiges of those programs are gone and see if it helps.
     
  3. cocky jeremy macrumors 68040

    cocky jeremy

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2008
    Location:
    Columbus, OH
    #3
    Only issue i had with my MX (Revolution) mouse was that i charged it so many times that the back wore off to the point it wouldn't charge anymore.
     
  4. SandboxGeneral Moderator

    SandboxGeneral

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2010
    Location:
    Orbiting a G-type Main Sequence Star
    #4
    I have two of those mice and they are working fine for me. both on iMac's running 10.7.3. My Logitech software version is 3.4.0.

    Can you try using a different mouse, not the trackpad or magic mouse and see what happens?
     
  5. camardelle macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2011
    Location:
    Texas
    #5
    Could you try the mouse on a different computer for a couple days to see if the same issues occur? Also, are there other wireless devices hooked up that could be causing the problems?
     
  6. Squall Strife macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2010
    #6
    I had the same problem the first day I connected the mx on my imac 27".
    Try to connect the logitech usb receiver on another usb it should work ;)
     
  7. MacFanJeff macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2008
    Location:
    IL, USA
    #7
    I have the same Logitech Performance MX mouse, running the latest Logitech software in Lion 10.7.3 as well. This too has been an issue for me with much the same problems you are seeing. Tried the same thing you did and also run it under Boot Camp. On Windows 7, it has no problems at all and it works fine on other systems too, just not with Lion it seems (for some people).

    I am going to try a different USB port for the RF dongle and hope that does it. Otherwise, I am not sure what is causing it as I do not have anything else under Lion that would and it is a CLEAN install.
     
  8. alksion thread starter macrumors 68000

    alksion

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2010
    Location:
    Los Angeles County
    #8
    I do appreciate all of your replies, but like I said, I have tried everything mentioned. The mouse works fine plugged into my MacBook and I never see the problem occur, only in the iMac. I will try later today to test another mouse with a cord to see what that does.

    So frustrating because I really like this mouse.
     
  9. SandboxGeneral Moderator

    SandboxGeneral

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2010
    Location:
    Orbiting a G-type Main Sequence Star
    #9
    Have you tried creating a new user profile on the iMac and running Photoshop with that mouse to see if the problem occurs that way?

    If it works properly in a new profile, then we know there's something amiss in your regular profile.
     
  10. alksion thread starter macrumors 68000

    alksion

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2010
    Location:
    Los Angeles County
    #10
    Laser USB mouse works just fine. Okay so I am using my MX right now and it's been off for over day. I turned it back on and it's working okay. Problem, you would think that problem may fixed now, but that's where I come in. There is no doubt it'll start acting up again as it always.

    When my computer is running PP,PS,AE, iTunes and Chrome all doing full tasks, the mouse skips so badly I cannot even use it. Just FYI..

    ----------

    I thought I would throw this is here. Looks like many people struggle with mouse and its problems. One person said they have been through three models in ten months, ouch!

    http://www.logitech.com/en-us/mice-pointers/mice/devices/5845
     
  11. Motliest Crue macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010
    Location:
    New England
    #11
    Random suggestion but have you tried it with the charging cable plugged into the imac? Maybe it has something to do with the wireless dongle being attached to your imac?
     
  12. alksion thread starter macrumors 68000

    alksion

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2010
    Location:
    Los Angeles County
    #12
    But this is the replacement one with a brand new little USB receiver and it's still doing the same thing.
     
  13. cocky jeremy macrumors 68040

    cocky jeremy

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2008
    Location:
    Columbus, OH
    #13
    This mouse is USB, right? If so, do you have bluetooth on and a bluetooth mouse added, maybe? If so, it might occasionally pick up that mouse and mess up a little.
     
  14. MacFanJeff macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2008
    Location:
    IL, USA
    #14
    No, none of the trouble the poster is stating or myself have had with this mouse has anything to do with the above (at least in my case). I have tried nearly all this with their tech support as well. It only became an issue under Lion and a new user profile, changing USB ports, only one mouse connected, etc. all have same issue.

    As I said in prior post, this is NOT an issue at all running under Windows 7 64bit or when I used it in Snow Leopard. You can run it under Boot Camp on my Mac Pro just fine, but it has random jitters or skips like the other person reported at times. Logitech knows about this and one of them thinks it is something that interrupts or conflicts at times with their Logitech software. They don't know what or even how to fix it. They did say hopefully Mountain Lion will help perhaps when it comes out since it seems to be a Lion issue mostly.

    Now, if Apple only did like in the good old days and actually stick with their OS until a .8 or better patch fix it would help. But, with their new ways of doing things, it is doubtful you will see such fine tuning in their OS before they scrap it and move on.
     
  15. alksion thread starter macrumors 68000

    alksion

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2010
    Location:
    Los Angeles County
    #15
    So I am basically screwed.. for now?
     
  16. alksion thread starter macrumors 68000

    alksion

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2010
    Location:
    Los Angeles County
    #16
    Taken by the silence, I am going to side with yes. This is extremely disappointing. I may just return it and wait for it to be fixed....
     
  17. matthack macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2012
    #17
    any news on this? I am experiencing this problem since 3 weeks and it make my performance mx unusable...

    Thanks for any help...

    matt
     
  18. Labaguette macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2010
    Location:
    Good ol' Germany
    #18
    I also had some issues regarding this mouse running on a 27" iMac. For me the problem was easily solved by using the USB extension cord included with the MX. Plugged the receiver in there and put it on the same height level as the mouse (table surface) et voilà it works. Somehow the housing of the iMac seems to block radiofrequency of the MX. Hope this helps.

    Best regards,
    Baguette
     
  19. Azzin macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2010
    Location:
    London, England.
    #19
    Does it do it if you don't have all those applications running?

    It sounds like a (lack of) power issue, or maybe your HDD stalling.

    How much RAM does the system have?
     
  20. alksion thread starter macrumors 68000

    alksion

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2010
    Location:
    Los Angeles County
    #20
    I can confirm it has nothing to do with the how much RAM the computer has or the power of CPU.

    There definitely is a signal/frequency problem with the my particular iMac and this mouse receiver. Logitech is playing dumb to the problem, but it does indeed exist.

    ..And no, I have not found a solution to the problem, it is irking at me though!
     
  21. Razorhog macrumors 65816

    Razorhog

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2006
    Location:
    Arkansas
    #21
    This is a shot in the dark, but maybe there is interference in the 2.4 GHz spectrum. I use a Microsoft Sidewinder X8, which also uses 2.4 GHz. It just so happens that the video baby monitors I use in the house are also 2.4 GHz. I have to move the mouse receiver closer to the mouse or I get erratic behavior at times - missed clicks and jumpiness.

    If you have any wireless devices using 2.4 GHz, try turning them off and check the performance of the mouse. Also you might try using the mouse at the back of the computer to see if proximity to the receiver alleviates the problem. Good luck!

    Edit: also consider your wireless router - if it runs on 2.4 maybe there is interference from it? You might try changing the channel in the router too.
     
  22. Azzin macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2010
    Location:
    London, England.
    #22
    Wirelessly posted

    How can you confirm it's not a RAM/HDD problem?
     
  23. alksion thread starter macrumors 68000

    alksion

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2010
    Location:
    Los Angeles County
    #23
    Well, let's see.. Where should I start?

    - I have 16GB of RAM
    - Brand New HDD
    - Magic Mouse Works
    - Magic TrackPad Works
    - Logitech Mouse works just fine when plugged in through USB
    - Should I continue on?
     
  24. fhall1 macrumors 68040

    fhall1

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2007
    Location:
    (Central) NY State of mind
    #24
    Try what Labaguette suggests....plug the USB receiver into the extension cord and place it as close to your mouse as possible and try it for a while. If it works fine - move the receiver an inch or so further away from the mouse and test again for a while. Repeat as needed to see if it's receiver placement that's causing the issue.
     
  25. Jeremy M. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2012
    #25
    I find that my logitech and bluetooth controllers start stuttering under heavy load as well (13" 2011 MBP). I believe it's a driver issue with OSX. My Logitech Performance MX works with every other computer I've tested it on. This even includes a lowly netbook w/ Atom processor under heavy load.

    Not a RAM or HDD problem. Any suggestions guys?
     

Share This Page