Logitech Performance MX vs Magic Trackpad

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by dwd3885, Aug 4, 2010.

1. dwd3885 macrumors 68020

Right now I am using a wired Mighty Mouse. It's not meant to be a permanent solution, so I want to get either a Logitech Performance MX vs Magic Trackpad?

I've used both in stores sampling them out, but am a little afraid to put down $70 for a device and then not like it for what I do.

I do a lot of photo and video editing in Aperture and iMovie. I'm not a pro, I just do this as a hobby. I work in photoshop every so often. Other than that I'm usually just browsing the web.

I've used the Magic Mouse before as my main mouse for 9 months and liked it a lot. And I've used the Logitech MX Revolution for about 2 years and really liked that as well. But I'm not sure which one would be better for my workflow?

Any advice?

2. brendu macrumors 68020

I was planning on buying the magic trackpad today but when I played with it at the apple store decided not to because its just too big to use comfortably for a long time. I dont have small hands at all and I just felt like it was uncomfortable to use the one finger for the cursor because I had to keep the rest of my hand off the trackpad... Maybe there are some settings that can be changed to make it less sensitive to other touches but I was pretty upset about it.. I still prefer the magic mouse.

3. = bluntman = macrumors regular

My MX Revolution mouse recently died, but I was lucky enough to find a Performance MX mouse on sale. Shortly after that purchase the Magic Trackpad was released and I wanted to try it out.

I use Lightroom and CS5 regularly, and on occasion, have used iMovie. The MTP needed some getting used to with these programs but after customizing the MTP with the MTP software and BetterTouchTool I found myself using the MTP more than the Performance MX mouse!