Logitech RX1000

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by JubileeC, Nov 30, 2008.

  1. JubileeC macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2007
    Location:
    Edinburgh
    #1
    Hi everyone

    My Mighty Mouse's scroll wheel has died (which I hear is quite common) and I am loathe to purchase a new one. I've been recommended the Logitech RX1000, but can't seem to find if it is OS X compatible. Anyone had any experience with this using a Mac?
     
  2. solitaireformac macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2008
    #2
    Sorry for bringing up this old thread, but I'am facing the same problem.

    Has somebody a RX1000 and can assure me, that this thing works with my Mac?
     
  3. surflordca macrumors 6502a

    surflordca

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2007
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    #3
    I use the MX1000 and love it...
     
  4. VPrime macrumors 68000

    VPrime

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2008
    Location:
    London Ontario
    #4
    Check logitechs site to see if there is software/drivers for os x.
    If not, the mouse will still work just the extra buttons/features usually will not work.
    If that happens you can use the app USB OverDrive to bind things to the mouse. I had to do this for my side buttons on my G5 mouse. Works great. The programs costs money, but it is shareware. The non registered version is fine though, every thing works just you get a small pop up saying please buy every time you launch the preferences. No biggy.
     
  5. surflordca macrumors 6502a

    surflordca

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2007
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    #5
    I never updated drivers for my mouse and all the extra buttons work just fine.
     
  6. VPrime macrumors 68000

    VPrime

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2008
    Location:
    London Ontario
    #6
    On my MX1000, and G5 it did not work under OS X.. .Weird.
    The mx1000 had the drivers, the G5 I used the usb over drive.
     
  7. solitaireformac macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2008
    #7
    The RX1000 has two tilt buttons and a "zoom" button. Logitech says nothing about a Mac compatibility. There is the normal driver package für Mac, which supports their mice and keyboards.

    I would like to know someone has experiences with the RX1000 and knows if the "special" buttons are usable under OS X.
     
  8. Zortrium macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2003
    #8
    I own two MX1000's and have used them routinely with several Macs (iMac G5, Macbook C2D, iMac C2D, both Tiger and Leopard) - Logitech's Mac software (Logitech Control Center) interfaces perfectly with them and supports assigning all of the buttons to a variety of standard and specialized function. In some cases I've found the software to be better on the Mac side than on the Windows side - for instance, I've got the scroll buttons above and below the scroll wheel mapped to volume control, but it doesn't seem that you can do the same in Windows.
     
  9. solitaireformac macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2008
    #9
    A MX1000 doesn't help me much, since I'm looking for a RX1000 and both are quite differrent.
     
  10. VPrime macrumors 68000

    VPrime

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2008
    Location:
    London Ontario
    #10
    I already told you what to do.
    Go to Logitechs site.

    If you see driver/software download for a mac than every thing will work.
    If not, than dont expect all the buttons to work (Standard left/right click will work). For any extra buttons you will need to use USBOverdrive.
     

Share This Page