Logmein deployment

Discussion in 'iPad' started by bhodge10, May 6, 2010.

  1. bhodge10 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2009
    #1
    While this isn't really an iPad matter I thought I share a way that Ive found to deploy logmein to remote computers without giving the user your name and password. With using drop box you can download the installation client from your loginme in account and save the file to your dropbox folder. Then you can email the link to your end user and they will be able to save and install the file.

    I know this isn't really iPad related but since I use the iPad and logmein as part of my business, i thought Id share how to deploy logmein. If this is an inappropriate post, please move or delete this post. Thanks.
     
  2. JReynolds macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2009
    Location:
    Where the Air Force sends me
    #2
    That's really good to know. I tried walking my mom through the steps the other day via phone and failed miserably.

    Thanks for the post.
     
  3. doofoo macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2006
    #3
    Post how.. What are you doing to create the logmein installer w/ saved credentials already?
     
  4. phpmaven macrumors 68040

    phpmaven

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2009
    Location:
    San Clemente, CA USA
    #4
    Can you give us a bit more details on how to do this?

    Thanks,

    Mark
     
  5. DoFoT9 macrumors P6

    DoFoT9

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2007
    Location:
    Singapore
  6. bhodge10 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2009
    #6
    All I've done was log into my Logmein account (using a computer) at their website, where it lists all of your computers you have access to, there should be an "Add computer" button. Clicking on this creates a custom MSI installation package. Save this to your Dropbox folder (public folder for mine). Send the user the link, when they click on the link it should pull up the Save file box and just have them install as normal. It's working for me this way. Let me know if this doesn't work for any of you.
     
  7. nikhsub1 macrumors 68010

    nikhsub1

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2007
    Location:
    mmmm... jessica.'s beer...
    #7
    If you have logmein central, there is a deployment link that does just what you are saying... except it is just a link and you don't need to give them your account info...
     
  8. oj6665 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2009
    Location:
    Sheffield
    #8
    ?

    Sorry this may be a stupid question but can I use log me in to access my mac and use the safari on that and if so will flash work?
     
  9. DoFoT9 macrumors P6

    DoFoT9

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2007
    Location:
    Singapore
    #9
    yes, depending on your internet upload speed at your home location that might make for VERY bad experieinces :) :(
     
  10. Spyderturbo007 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2009
    #10
    Freakin' Awesome! Thank you so much for this information. I was searching for a way to do this but never found anything that worked.
     
  11. DoFoT9 macrumors P6

    DoFoT9

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2007
    Location:
    Singapore
    #11
    this solution seems great for windows - but what about osx? does it similarly create a dmg file for us to use? :)

    i think at the moment for ease of use - i will stick to team viewer.
     
  12. _themilkman macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2008

Share This Page