Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

OCBC

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Dec 12, 2007
Hey everyone, this is my first post at macrumors.com, but i've been reading for a little bit.

My school, Oberlin College, is hosting a logo design contest for the new technology store. It used to be called the Oberlin Computer Store but is changing its name to the Oberlin Technology Store. They seem pretty attached to an acronym based logo using OTS, so that's where I started. Anyhow, I've come up with five or so designs that I would like y'all to critique.

I'm really new at illustrator, but I have fairly extensive photoshop experience. I have my preferences within these, and I also know that none of them are perfect, but I would greatly appreciate your feedback and suggestions on where to head next.

The power cord logo is supposed to evoke the shape of our library with a path leading to it.

Attachments

• OTS logo full type.png
    OTS logo full type.png
    41 KB · Views: 138
  • OTS logo yin yang.png
    OTS logo yin yang.png
    53.6 KB · Views: 93
  • OTS swoosh logo.png
    OTS swoosh logo.png
    82.4 KB · Views: 115
  • OTS triangle.png
    OTS triangle.png
    61.4 KB · Views: 91
  • power cord logo logo.png
    power cord logo logo.png
    36.5 KB · Views: 94

Unspeaked

macrumors 68020
Dec 29, 2003
West Coast
I like where the first one is going, but it's way too busy with the colored balls, the full name and then the acronym.

None of them scream "technology" to me except maybe the last one, where you tried to do the plug thing, but I think the lettering is most difficult to read on that one.

I would drop the colored ball thing all together, and try to run with the lettering on the first design. I like the idea of a plug, but it can be a lot cleaner than it was implemented on the last one.

Simple is always best for logos!

:)

Hope this helps - I don't think I'm being hard, right?

OCBC