Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Anderson3133

macrumors regular
Original poster
Jan 23, 2008
Alright, I have been asked by a friend to help design a logo for a company called Doogo. It is a Canadian company that sells a variety of products online. Unfortunately, the website is not up at this point in time and I have no ideas. Any help would be awesome. Thanks guys!

motoxpress

macrumors 6502
Mar 8, 2006
I am not sure what you are asking here. Are you a designer? If not, encourage him to go find one and pay them handsomely :)

-mx

Anderson3133

macrumors regular
Original poster
Jan 23, 2008
I am not sure what you are asking here. Are you a designer? If not, encourage him to go find one and pay them handsomely :)

-mx

:p I was hoping for some form of help, whether it be in the form of assistance, ideas, ways to do this, etc. I am by no means a designer, but have always been fascinated by the things you guys can create, so I thought I would give it a try.

motoxpress

macrumors 6502
Mar 8, 2006
Well, it is a free country...But, if your friend was looking for some help with a triple-bypass, would you go buy a scalpel?

As far as help goes, I am not sure what I can offer. Design is a process not a light bulb (Switched on and off) as many might think. There are also a lot of concepts and rules (Yes, art has rules) that go into good design. So, by accepting the job from the friend you are kind of throwing yourself into a situation where you have no tools or personal guidance to know when you have succeeded...and it's not when you think "Hey, that looks pretty good".

I don't want to come off condescending, which I probably am, but, there really is a lot to design and logo design is one of the hardest challenges in the field. Don't hit yourself over the head too much when it doesn't come together.

If you are determined and willing to learn then, start with reading the following books: