LOLS Read: rMBP Graphics Card. Died.

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by -BigMac-, Sep 4, 2012.

  1. -BigMac- macrumors 6502a

    -BigMac-

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2011
    #1
    Hi guys.

    1 month old rMBP.
    Was playing a game under bootcamp yesterday, all of sudden the fps dropped.

    Checked, re-checked. yep. substancially dropped.

    Booted under Mac.
    Cinebench 11.5 rMBP reports say i should get around 40fps.
    i got 14.6fps.

    Called Apple, they're puzzled. Appointment is tomorrow.

    FYI: never over clocked this card, i was very impressed with the stock card performance.

    Is the 650M soldered into the computer? can they replace the part or will i get a replacement rMBP? :confused:

    Should i start backing up?

    Thanks a lot everyone :)
     
  2. M5RahuL macrumors 68020

    M5RahuL

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2009
    Location:
    Colorado
    #2
    I would back-up, definitely!!

    And, AFAIK, the GPU is soldered to the logic board.
     
  3. Gav2k macrumors G3

    Gav2k

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2009
    #3
    Everything is soldered on except the ssd.

    Backup and do a clean install. Try your game again see if it does it under a fresh install. It'll save you messing around in store because they always ask the same list of questions.
     
  4. -BigMac- thread starter macrumors 6502a

    -BigMac-

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2011
    #4
    will do, thanks a lot :)

    Also, it's not just the game which has seen a decrease in performance.
    The benchmarking under Mac is also showing this.

    Obviously this is not the machine which is 'described' by Apple, under this new benchmarking performances without the dedicated graphics card.
    So apple MUST replace this macbook for me right?
     
  5. Gav2k macrumors G3

    Gav2k

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2009
    #5
    Oh they will either replace it or change the logic board (doubtfull on the latter)
     
  6. Dangerous Theory macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2011
    Location:
    UK
    #6
    You're not the first person to mention this. I imagine it is a hardware problem for a very tiny amount of devices. At least it's come up very early so replacements won't be a problem. Still, I'm glad I've got 3 years warranty.

    Is the 650M still recognized by either OS?
     
  7. Blackberryroid macrumors 6502a

    Blackberryroid

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2012
    Location:
    /private/var/vm/
    #7
    15 FPS is the same benchmark performance of My MacBook Air's Intel HD Graphics 4000. Are you sure you're running the test on the dedicated graphics card?
     
  8. -BigMac- thread starter macrumors 6502a

    -BigMac-

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2011
    #8
    The 650M is being recognised, i made sure of this by switching 'automatic graphics card switching off' and checking under 'about my mac' which card was being used. They alter, but performance stays the same.

    This is what i believe is happening.
    Although the 650M is apparently bing used, it is the Intel4000 which is active. I woudl think this would be a software issue if the same thing didnt happen under windows.
     
  9. kurayami88 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2012
  10. SchuettS macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2008
    #10
    What game were you playing? just curious
     
  11. Krazy Bill macrumors 68030

    Krazy Bill

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2011
    #11
    First rule of taking something in for repair...

    It will never show the error at the Apple Store and will work flawlessly. :D
     
  12. lazer155 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2010
    #12
    Completely true! :D I've only been able to replicate a problem on my mac once while I was there. Every other problem, I have had was never replicate-able in the apple store.
     
  13. terraphantm macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2009
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    #13
    Windows doesn't have access to the HD4000 though. It's disabled at the EFI level before Windows loads.
     
  14. -BigMac- thread starter macrumors 6502a

    -BigMac-

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2011
    #14
    League of Legends.
    Before i could play 60fps at 2880x1800.
    The drop was very noticeable.
    hits 50fps at 1280x800 now..

    In that case, the 650M performance has dropped drastically for some unknown reason. Thats weird as.

    ----------

    did a fresh install of the current 10.8.1.

    Same benchmark results.
    Hardware it is.
     
  15. theineffablebob macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2012
    #15
    Wow I'm getting the same issue.

    My frame rate in games just suddenly dropped dramatically. Games used to run very smoothly but now they're incredibly choppy. I ran GPU-Z and the clock rates are all the same.
     
  16. -BigMac- thread starter macrumors 6502a

    -BigMac-

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2011
    #16
    quoted solution:

    "just do a pRAM and SMC reset... (google it) ... it takes less than 1 minute to fix."


    FIXED :D
     
  17. MICHAELSD macrumors 68040

    MICHAELSD

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2008
    Location:
    NJ
    #17
    Try installing Windows through Boot Camp. The 650M is supposed to be on all of the time in Windows on a rMBP so if it works there, then there's nothing wrong and if not Apple should replace it.
     
  18. theineffablebob macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2012
    #18
    :eek: This fixed it!

    I had previously reset the PRAM but I didn't know you could also do a SMC reset. This is my first Macbook Pro.
     

Share This Page