(Long) About to lose my baby, here's to you Steve Austin.

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by Greene, Oct 7, 2015.

1. Greene macrumors regular

Greene

So I've off and on toyed with the idea of selling my 2.7 G5. The model had a refurbished liquid cooling system, and really brought me back to the days of salivating over the dual 2.5 and fanboying about how much better tiger was than XP (it isn't [it's just different {i tell myself}]). These days lasted for quite a while, as I was too young to work.

Eventually, after I started learning some python, my uncle, a big mac guy and a database administrator in Dallas, gave me his old single 1.8 GHz G5 and a copy of tiger when he upgraded to a dual 2.5, around 04 or 05. It was for my 13th birthday. I owe more than is quantifiable both to him and that computer. He's since passed away, his name was Steve Austin, and he and his partner Jerry were my stand in father figures. As you can imagine, the G5 holds a special place in my heart as it reminds me of him.

Unfortunately the day to sell has come. An AmigaOS guy is about to get it for a price too good to pass up on my end. At least it's going to a good home where it will have plenty of open farmland to play.

Sad / happy / saudade day. Is this what sending your kid off to college is like?

Any one selling a quad? or maybe a dual 1.8?

2. Hrududu macrumors 68020

Hrududu

I guess I don't see why you would sell a really great G5 just to look for another. Maybe its time for a Mac Pro?

3. Greene thread starter macrumors regular

Greene

That's a fair question. (1) Asking if anyone had another G5 for sale was a bit of a laugh, not serious. (2) I'm a 23 year old grad student in philosophy (although thankfully one with a good job), money was the reason I sold the computer. I had $60 invested in the machine, and the guy bought it for $257 shipped. That, unfortunately, was too good to pass up on my end.