Long Exposures

Discussion in 'Digital Photography' started by SB123, May 17, 2011.

1. SB123, May 17, 2011
    Last edited: May 17, 2011

SB123 macrumors member

I'm rather new to photography and the other thread got me thinking. Why can't I take a long exposure photo? I have a Nikon D60 and I'm using the 18-55 mm 1:3.5-5.6 lens that came with it. I understand that the shutter will be open longer so the aperture needs to be as small as possible (higher #) to reduce the light.

If I set the shutter speed to 2 seconds, I can't get the aperture above f36. The photo is always over exposed.

Is this because of the camera or the lens or something I am missing? Would a higher or lower ISO help?

2. Grey Beard macrumors 65816

Grey Beard

Yep a lower ISO is the other setting to factor in. What were you using.
    KGB

3. SB123 thread starter macrumors member

It was at 800, but I've tried lower and still can't get the aperture right.

4. LittleCanonKid macrumors 6502

How dark are the conditions you're trying to shoot in? If you're trying to pull of long exposures in broad daylight, you're going to need an ND filter. Low ISO and stopped down apertures combined can't shut out daylight completely.

5. The Mad Kiwi macrumors 6502

To do long exposures in daylight you'll need a 10 stop nd filter like the Hoya ND400.
    They're almost black glass you can just barely see through the viewfinder for framing, remember to cover the viewfinder during exposure otherwise you'll get some light spill to the sensor through it.
    You'll also need to do a custom colour balance as the 10 stop filters don't block the spectrum evenly, hence you see lots of b&w or desaturated long daytime exposures.
    Good luck they're lots of fun.

6. SB123 thread starter macrumors member

I tried shooting during the day and that obviously didn't work. So I tried at dusk on a cloudy day and the pics were still over exposed.

Does the camera or lens limit how much you can stop down the aperture?