long firewire -extenders or repeaters?

Discussion in 'Digital Video' started by rohee, Nov 20, 2008.

  1. rohee macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2008
    #1
    I am planning on running a firewire cable from a camera about 120 feet to a grass valley switcher. Do I need an extender and several repeaters? I know that firewire cables are not supposed to run over 14.5ft-so do i need to connect those with repeaters and then into an extender? Or is the extender enough?
     
  2. rohee thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2008
    #3
    yes- like that extender

    in order to use that extender, do I need to connect several 14ft firewires together with a repeater (is that what it does)? Or do I just connect the firewires to the extender alone?
     
  3. Flynnstone macrumors 65816

    Flynnstone

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2003
    Location:
    Cold beer land
    #4
    Goto the link above.
    Look at the application picture to the bottom right.
    Is that what you want to do?
     
  4. ChemiosMurphy macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2007
    Location:
    Warminster, PA
    #5
    Why do you need to use firewire? Can you use SDI instead?
     
  5. -DH macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2006
    Location:
    Nashville Tennessee
    #6

Share This Page