Long term support for 17" MBP?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by Shintsu, Mar 29, 2017.

1. Shintsu macrumors member

Shintsu

I am trying to determine (as best I can) how long an i7 based Late 2011 17" MBP will likely be supported. I know Sierra cut off support for some of the older devices and it's that same thing that concerns me about the Late 2011 MBP. The cutoff was Mid 2010 or newer for MBP, so what I'm wondering as I look at this if the cutoff was Core 2 based Macs. Mid 2010 MBPs would all have been first gen i5/i7s right? So a Late 2011 17" MBP with a 2nd Gen i7 seems pretty safe if the cutoff is going to be based off architecture.

But I am very new to Mac and Apple, so I have no idea if those of you who've been around much longer in this space are more familiar with a pattern from Apple regarding things like this. Technical ability wise, I think the 17" MBP with i7 would be great for me and my intended use. My Windows PC is running a 3rd gen i7 and I see absolutely no need to upgrade to the newer generation CPUs. It should be noted that the battery life benefits are largely moot for me since I am not going to have it off the charger much, but I know on the MBPs that's a big boon on the newer gens.

I'm planning to use this computer for at least probably the next 2-3 years, I mean barring the need for something far more powerful. But with an i7 it's already still ahead of even the newer i5's in raw power.

2. smallcoffee macrumors 65816

You're fine if you think you're fine. It's not like they're going to turn the Mac off on you or something. Are you looking to buy one, or do you already have?

3. Shintsu thread starter macrumors member

Shintsu